top of page

Rumsey Break Through on Moose's LZ Wing Night; Skias & Carraghan Opener Winners

Linda’s Speedway held the season opening event for 2021 on Friday April 9. Although it was a new season it was familiar faces in victory lane.

In the Moose’s LZ Bar and Grill Winged Night opener for the 600 Micro Sprints it was Logan Rumsey using the big stage to shine bright. Rumsey set quick time for the night in time trials and then proceeded to win his heat race locking in the pole starting spot for the feature.

The main event went green until half way when second place Rodney Westhafer lost an engine causing a yellow flag. Westhafer’s retirement put multi time opening night winner Tommy Kunsman on Rumsey’s tail. Rumsey was able to drive away from Kunsman and again on the long green run negotiate lap traffic to hold the race lead in route to his first Linda’s Speedway feature win.

Rumsey, Kunsman, and Jesse Maurer rounded out the podium finishers following the 35 lap feature race. Quinn Roberts was fourth and Heath Hehnly was fifth.

Rumsey, Westhafer, and Jason Swavely won heat races.

Sponsors for the Wing Night event included Moose’s LZ Bar and Grill, Groff Motorsports, Stinger Race Fuel, Bills Emergency Roadside Service, Seidel Hyundai, NSS Property Services, and

Pete Skias has rekindled his winnings way in 270 Micro Sprint competition after pairing back up with Chuck Skias for the 2021 season. Pete Skias worked his way through the top five quickly into the race lead. Once Skias was out front he never looked back on his way to the checkered flag over early race leader Andrew Dietrich. Randy West rounded out the podium finishers in the top three.

Christi Sweigart was fourth and Matt Fernsler finished out the top five.

Nate Gibble and Pete Skias won heat race for the 270 Micro Sprints.

Dave Carraghan and Ronnie Spitler have been early season winners the last three years. 2021 would see that trend continue as the two shared the front row for the main event. Carraghan took the top spot at the drop of the green and survived quite a few restarts with a lot of pressure from the rest of the field on his way to the checkered flag.

Carraghan, Tyler Hoch, Tyler Ulsh, Brett Bieber, and Ronnie Spitler were the top five finishers at the conclusion of the 20 lap season opener.

Carraghan and Hoch were heat race winners.

This Friday, April 16, at Linda’s Speedway the 270, Wingless 600, and 125 Micro Sprints join the 600cc Modifieds and Chargers in a five division show.

Pit Admission will be $25 and grandstand admission will be $5.

As more details are released, they will be available at, Facebook, Twitter, or on the race track hotline at 717-865-5330. Linda’s Speedway is located at 200 Silvertown Rd, Jonestown, Pa 17038.

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page