top of page

Pete Skias wins The Hawk; Scicchitano in Modified Thriller

The Hawk was a 27 lap 27 car event to honor Brandon Hawkins, a former Linda’s Speedway racer who was tragically lost in a work accident earlier this year. What it turned into was a classic event that will live on in Linda’s Speedway history. 55 of the Mt Gretna Roller Rink 270 Micro Sprints filled the pit area vying for the $1,000 prize and the Hawk trophy that most coveted.

Pete Skias was coming off a feature win a week ago and right now is the driver to beat at Linda’s Speedway. Skias set quick time and led the field to the green flag for the 27 lap finale after qualifying was compete. Cory Myers quickly moved into pressure Skias. Myers was a Foz Chassis teammate to Hawkins when he competed in the 270 Micro Sprints. The two waged a tightly contested battle for the lead. Myers took the race lead in traffic before Skias was able to muscle it back. Jacob Hendershot quickly closed in on the leaders along with Alex Swift to make it a four car battle in the traffic. A Yellow flag on lap 20 gave Skias open race track to work with again and that just what the wily veteran needed to drive to the win in “The Hawk”.

Skias, Myers, Hednershot, Swift, and Lee Reinhardt were the top five finishers. Sixth through tenth went to Pat Bealer (From 15th), Scott Gingrich, Ben Stolz, Mike Rutherford, and Austin Pasquerella.

270 Micro Sprint heat winners were Lee Reinhardt, Alex Swift, Scott Gingrich, Ryan Fredericks, and Logan Diehl.

Nunzi Allegrucci won the C Main and Bill Gray took the B Main Checkered flag.

Tommy Kunsman passed Joey Amantea near half way of the Hyper Racing/ Hoosier Tire MA 600 Micro Sprint. Once out front, Kunsman, led the remaining laps for the win from his 11th starting spot. Ryan Kunkle made challenges but ended up second. Point champion Brandon Heist rounded out the podium finishers. Mike Thompson and Garyt Smith also finished in the top five finishers.

600 Micro Sprint heat races were won by Tommy Kunsman, Zach Bealer, and Mike Thompson.

Justin Harrington made a move by Holden Eckman in the middle of the feature race for the Mongoose Chassis 125 Micro Sprint and held off Marty Brian in a very close two lap shootout for the win. Following Harrington and Brian across the line were early leader Brandon Shearer, Cliff Brian Jr., and Holden Eckman.

125 Micro Sprint heat race wins went to Brandon Shearer and Kyler Heiney.

In a thrilling MGS Trailer Store Modified race point leader Sam Scicchitano battled Matt Warner in, to this point, the best Modified race of the season. The event went green to checkered flag with Scicchitano managing lap traffic a little bit better than Warner on this night. Kenny Harris III joined the battle at the end of the race but settled for a third place finish. Eric Whitby and Jeromy Guistwite finished out the top five.

Ray Gradwell and Eric Whitby were Modified heat winners.

Jason Dunkleberger led all 15 laps of the Sharp Mini Late Model feature event. Tuck Gordner was second followed by Justin Riegel.

Late Model heat winner was Jason Dunkleberger.

Linda’s Speedway would like to thank all of the competitors and fans that came to be part of this special night at the race track. A special thank you to Holly Kroboth for her efforts in collecting sponsorship. And last, but certainly not least, the Hawkins family for allowing Linda’s Speedway to be the host of the 2020 Hawk race.

118 views0 comments
bottom of page