Neary Slingshot LV 50 Win; Zimmer, Hollenbach & Brian also winner

Scott Neary covered the field in the return of the Lebanon Valley 50 to Linda’s Speedway to start the month of October for the Slingshots. Neary led every lap of the 50 run for the All Star Slingshots on Friday night. While challenged several times, Neary remained the class of the field. Former Linda’s Speedway champion Dave Carraghan climbed to second and stayed there to complete a string of second place finished compiled by Carraghan in Linda’s Speedway points, Northeast Slingshot touring points, and the event. Tyler Ulsh had an impressive showing in third of the 31 car field.

Sam Neary was the only driver to pit on the lap 10 competition caution and came from the tail of the field to finish fourth. Tyler Hoch rounded out the top five after battling for the lead early on.

Danny Buccafusca was sixth followed by Brett Bieber, Jason Kraycirik, Cody Kliune, and Andrew turpin.

Bieber clinched the Northeast points championship with the seventh place finish.

The hard charger for the event was Doug Smith who finished 11th.

Hard luck went to Shelby McLaughin, who was inside the top five when her motor let go in the 50 lap feature event.

Thomas Nettleship was the quick timer of the night.

Scott Neary, Tyler Hoch, and Shelby Mclaughlin won the heat races for the All Star Slingshots.

Chase Zimmer became a first-time winner in the Junior Slingshots holding off James Hendricks and Northeast Junior Slingshot champion Aidan Donaldson. Brock Pinkerous and Charlene Benz concluded the top five.

The Junior Slingshot feature race went green to checkered.

Zimmer was the heat race winner.

Ed Hollenbech ended his championship year with a non-point paying win in the Charger Challenge presented by Appalachian Auto LLC. The race started with a few yellow flags before the field settled in to battle behind Shane Flaherty as he went most of the event at the front of the field before Hollenbach got by on a restart. Chuck Kimmel slipped into second followed by front wheel driver teammates Bill Sherwood and Ken Buck. Flaherty was fifth across the line.

Bill Kennedy, Bill Sherwood, and Troy Hostetter won the heat races for the open 4 cyl race.

In the Mongoose Chassis 125 Micro Sprints it was Cliff Brian Jr. showing muscle winning both his heat races in the dual heat race format used along with the main event. Brian also won the curtain closing event for the class a year ago. Marty Brian finished in the second spot with Justin Harrinton, Kyler Heiney, and Alex Lukacs rounding out the top five across the line.

Gates open at 5:00 on for the next event at Linda's Speedway on Oct 9. Practice will start at 7 followed by racing.

Pit Admission will be $25 and grandstand admission will be $5.

As more details are released they will be available at, Facebook, Twitter, or on the race track hotline at 717-865-5330.

40 views0 comments