Kunsman Wins Linda's Birthday Bash; Rumsey fourth after taking $7,500 challenge

When August 14 fell on a Friday for the 2020 year it was determined it would be a special race in honor of the birthday of track owner and promoter Linda Batz. In her own words, It was a great way to celebrate her 21st birthday.”

A front row challenge was presented to the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic / Hyper Racing Wingless 600 Micro Sprints as part of the Linda’s Birthday Bash. Tommy Kunsman earned the pole after a pursuit race but turned down the offer to go to the back for an extra $2,000. Logan Rumsey was made the same offer after locking into the second starting spot. Rumsey’s offer was sweetened when it was doubled. He still was not a taker. Finally, a $7,500 prize was laid out for the young racer and he took it to start in the last position of the 30 lap feature. If he was able to win he would leave with the big prize.

Kunsman paced the field early with a lot of pressure from Jesse Maurer. Maurer kept Kunsman honest for much of the race keeping pressure on the race leader.

Rumsey began his charge to the front and by half way he was sixth. He quest would come to a conclusion in the fourth position after battling with Richie Hartman for third in the closing laps.

Kunsman held off Maurer to the checkered flag for the win. Hartman was third with Rumsey and Fred Heinly the top five finishers.

Heinly and Rumsey won heat races.

Tommy Kunsman jumped out front early in the Mt Gretna Roller Rink 270 Micro Sprint and never looked back driving to the checkered flag. The battle was behind Kunsman as Mike Boyer picked his way to second. Boyer had a shot at a late race restart, but he ran out of time and finished in second. Brandon Heist came across third followed by Anthony Yerger and Matt Fernsler.

Boyer and Scott Gingrich were heat race winners.

Sam Neary went from crew chief to victory lane in the Slingshots on Friday at the Linda’s Birthday Bash. Neary bested Scott Neary and Brett Bieber in the “Super National Event”. Scott Neary was the winner at World Championship Weekend a year ago while Sam Neary worked on the car. Tyler Hoch and Tyler Ulsh made up the top five finishers.

Same and Scott Neary along with Zach Steffy won heat races.

The Appalachian Auto Chargers were playing high speed chess on Friday night as the class participated in their first cone race. A “Choose Cone” was placed on the track for double file restarts during the race. The cone stayed in place for the first eight laps while Ed Hollenbach rolled around as the race leader. Hollenbach held off restarts beside Chris Smith and Troy Hostetter for the win. Hostetter finished second trailed by Smith on the podium. Sam Yeagley and Chuckie Kimmel were the top five finishers.

Hostetter and Smith win heat races.

109 views0 comments