top of page

Gingrich takes Steve Buch Memorial; Thompson goes back to back in 600 Micro Sprints

Amy Williams Photo

Friday July 24, 2020 marked the final running of the Steve Buch Memorial Race for the 270 Micro Sprints. The event will become a sole 600 Micro Sprint race. It was the 20th running of the race.

Time Trials kicked off the night for the Mt. Gretna Roller Rink 270 Micro Sprints. Tommy Kunsman was quick time. Kunsman also won his heat race to start on the pole of the feature. Kunsman showed the way until lap 23 when he had an issue and second place Scott Gingrich took over the lead with heavy pressure from western Pa race Austin Pasquerella. Gingrich remained steady in the closing two laps and took the win over Pasquerella, Billy Logeman, Steve Dunmire, and Jeff Haefke.

This was Gingrich’s 12th career Linda’s Speedway win moving him into 15th on the all time win list.

Kunsman and Gingrich won heat races for the 270 Micro Sprints.

Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic/Hyper Racing Wingless 600 Micro Sprints has been the playground for Mike Thompson the last two weeks. Thompson won a week ago with the wing on and Friday night he took the checkered flag in the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints. Brandon Heist stayed within striking distance of the leader most of the race but, settled for second. Tommy Kunsman was third with Richie Hartman and Riley Emig rounding out the top five.

Tommy Kunsman and Fred Heinly won the heat races.

Ronnie Spitler was the winngest driver one year ago in the Slingshots. He was back to winning for on Friday night. Spitler lead the field to the green flag and held off a charging Brett Bieber at the end of the 20 lap main event. Spitler’s win was his sixth career Linda’s Speedway win. Bieber was second with Justin Thompson, Dave Carraghan, and Tyler Ulsh following across the line.

Ulsh and Carraghan won the Slingshot heat races.

It was a battle with two to go in the night cap for the Appalachian Auto Chargers that left the fans on the edge of their seat. Ed Hollenbach had led much of the event when his teammate Troy Hostetter caught him in the closing laps of the feature. Hostetter then pinned Hollenbach on the outside by diving to the inside. The problem for Hollenbach was there was a lap car in that lane. Hostetter was able to win the drag race to the finish line for the win. Hollenbach had to settle for second. Chucky Kimmel came from 7th to finish third. Chris Smith was fourth and Darrel Wagner was fifth.

Dale Kreiser and Troy Hostetter won the heat races.

The Gene Latta Ford Central PA Legends made their first start of the year in a rescheduled race from two weeks ago when rain washed out the run. Jeremy Ott jumped to the early race lead and held off Aaron Updegraff in the final few laps for the win. Both Ott and Updegraff are former stock car racers at the speedway. Greg Burd crossed the line third followed by Scott Houdeshell and Bill Diehl.

The race was part of the Houdeshell Home Improvement Tri Track Challenge series.

Houdeshell and Brent Marquis won heat race for the Legend Cars who will return to the Speedway on August 21st for the Earman Fulk Memorial Race.

Linda’s Speedway is ready to kick into high gear as the summer days rev up as well.

This coming Friday, July 31, is the 125 Micro Sprint “Big One” paying $1,000 to the winner. The 270 and Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots, and Modifieds are also on the card.

Then there is a quick turn around for the Tuesday August 4th race for the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, 270 Micro Sprints, and the Modifieds. This is a combined race with Richie Hartman Promotions. 600 Micro Sprint drivers will be in the midst of a busy week of racing.

The speedway has off ten days in preparation for the August 14th Linda’s Birthday Bash. This event will pay a potential of $1,500 to the winner of the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints plus it is $1 general admission night! The 270 Micro Sprints, Slingshots, and Chargers will be in action as well.

The Legend Cars are back on Friday August 21st in the Earman Fulk Memorial Race. The 270 and Wingless 600 Micro Sprints plus the Modifieds will join the Legends that night.

To close out August will the 270 Micro Sprint Time Trial Series racing in the Mike Boyer Living Legends Race. The race run to honor Mike Boyer and his two decades plus of auto racing. This night is a five division show of the “regular” Linda’s Speedway classes and the final time they all race on the same night in 2020. The 270 and Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots, Modified, and Chargers.

For more information on the upcoming events you can visit, Facebook, Twitter, or call the Speedway hotline at 717-865-5330.

151 views0 comments
bottom of page