Scicchitano Wins 50; Big Wins for Groff & Carraghan in title hopes

MGS Trailer Products Modifieds competed in the yearly Modified 50 to close out the night’s racing. A fantastic battled ensued through the event between Sam Scicchitano and Richie Hitzler. The two exchanged the lead numerous times before Scicchitano secured the top spot. The race leader had to hold off Korey Inglin in the closing laps of the feature for his second win of 2019 in event Scicchitano called “One I’ve always wanted to win.”

Brianna James came from last starting spot to finish in the final spot on the podium.

Hitzler was fourth followed by Mason Peters. Sixth through tenth went to Jeff Sechrist, Kenny Harris, Ty Hoke, Brian Blankenbiller, and Joe Carter.

Kenny Harris set quick time in time trials.

Heat races were won by Kenny Harris, Sam Scicchitano, and Hunter Deihl in the Modified 50.

Tommy Kunsman had little to lose on Friday night going for the victory in the 270 Micro Sprints. The defending champion enjoyed his final night as the reigning champion in victory lane by passing the driver that had everything to lose, Devin Harron. Harron finished second and clinched the 2019 270 Micro Sprint championship. His second at the speedway. Brandon Heist was third followed by Jacob Hendershot and Scott Gingrich.

Devin Harron, Tommy Kunsman, and Scott Gingrich won the heat races for the 270 Micro Sprints.

Ryan Groff stepped up in a big way on Friday in the Hoosier Tire/ Hyper Racing 600 Micro Sprints. Groff is chasing a championship and knew winning would help him gain maximum points. Groff won both his heat race and the feature event cutting Tommy Kunsman’s point lead to 33 points going into the final point week of the season on Sept 27. Nash Ely returned to Linda’s Speedway to finish second while Mike Thompson, Kusnman, and Cliff Brian Jr rounded out the top five.

Groff and Brian Jr were the heat race winners.

The Slingshots are down to their final two races of the 2019 season and the closing events of the Chase to the Championship. Dave Carraghan won his heat race and used a late race move to go around Ronnie Spitler on the final lap to win the feature event in dramatic fashion! Carraghan’s strong night allowed the defending champion to take over the point lead from Justin Thompson who lead the point series all year long.

Spitler was second trailed by Zachary Steffy who raced from the tail, Brett Beiber and Thompson.

Carraghan and Trevor Bixler were heat race winners.

In the Restricted 600 Micro Sprints it was Ben Maier taking the victory over Jude Siegel. Siegel was the heat race winner.

21 views0 comments