Maurer Big Winner; Kreiser again in Charger Ending Race, TK and Kline Repeat

The annual Charger Championship race presented a tight battle at the start that quickly turned to a dominating performance from Dale Kreiser on his way to his second Championship race win in the past two years. Kreiser led his teammate Ed Hollenbach across the line for the win. Eric Hollenbach was third in his return to the seat followed by Aaron Updegraff who also made his return in the big race. Josh Demmy rounded out the top five finishers.

Troy Hostetter set quick time for the Chargers and also won a heat race. Charles Wengerd was the other heat race winner.

Pat Bealer was fast again this week in the 270 Micro Sprints before his car slowed on lap 14 of the feature event while leading. As Bealer coasted off the track Tommy Kunsman took over the top spot on his way to the victory leading the remaining 11 laps. Mike Boyer, Nick Skias, Devin Harron, and Scott Gingrich chased Kunsman across the line.

Kunsman and Harron were heat race winners.

A stellar field of Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic / Hyper Racing 600 Micro Sprints took to the quarter mile Friday night for the last time with the wings on in 2019. Johnny Smith made his first start of 2019 and led the main event until lap 14 when Jesse Maurer moved by with a big crossover move. Maurer, determined in an effort to win the championship, led the remaining laps to take the Groff Team to their first Linda’s Speedway title. Maurer, Smith, Steven Snyder Jr., Ben Stolz, and Mike Thompson were the top five finishers.

Randy Kunkle, Brian Kramer, and Johnny Smith won heat races.

Trevor Bixler showed the way early in the third race of the Chase for the Slingshots on Friday night. Bixler lost the lead on a lap six restart to Cody Kline. “The Captain” paced the field the rest of the way for his second win of 2019 and a crucial win to keep his championship hopes alive. Justin Thompson and Dave Carraghan were the podium finishers. Brett Bieber and Brett Spitler settled in the top five.

Thompson and Carraghan were the top heat finishers.

The Central Pa Legends made their third of four stops at Linda’s Speedway on Friday night. Jeremy Ott is a former Linda’s Speedway winner in the Chargers and also the Legends cars earlier in 2019. Ott didn’t let that trend end on Friday night as he drove to the win being the only drivers to see a checkered flag at Linda’s Speedway this season in Legend racing. Ott would be hounded for 20 laps by second place finisher Chris McKinney. Travis McClelland was third while Austin Bellemare and Jeremy Hahn rounded out the top five.

Bellemare and Blaine Leppo were heat race winners for the Legend Cars.

Next Friday, September 20, The Xcel 600 Modifieds take center stage for the Modified 50. The 270 and Wingless 600 Micro Sprints will be in action along with Slingshots and Restricted 600 Micro Sprints.

For more information on Linda’s Speedway you can visit the You can also follow Linda’s Speedway on our various social media sites (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). You can also call the speedway hotline at 717-865-5330. Linda’s Speedway is located at 200 Silvertown Road, Jonestown, Pa 17038.

Gates open at 5:30 for weekly racing and practice starts at 7. Racing follows immediately after practice.

Linda’s Speedway admission to the grandstands continues to be $6 for adults (13 and over), $3 for ages 6-12, and 5 and under is free. Pit Admission or an all access pass to the pit area is available for $25.

In the event of rain, grandstand and pit passes will be honored unless qualifying is complete for the event, in which the features will be made up at a later time unless noted otherwise by speedway management. If an event is rained out and considered a complete cancelation, patrons may mail passes to the speedway with a self-addressed stamped envelope for a refund within 30 days of the event or their rain check will be good for free entry at one of the next two races.

80 views0 comments