Kunsman Doubles Up; Scicchitano and Bieber also winners


Chris Kennedy lead until half way of the 270 Micro Sprint feature. Behind him was an epic battle between former champions Tommy Kunsman and Devin Harron and defending National Open champion Pat Bealer. Bealer would eventually pull ahead in the battle and then take the race lead from Kennedy. Kunsman caught Bealer in lap traffic and worked by into the race lead with five to go. Bealer finished second. Brandon Heist, Devin Harron, and Mike Boyer were the top five finishers. Harron and Kunsman won the heat races. The luck of the draw placed Tommy Kunsman on the front row of the Hoosier Tire/Hyper Racing wingless 600 Micro Sprint feature event. Kunsman has won all but one of the Wingless events at the speedway this season that he has participated in. Ben Earnst gave the leader a challenge early before Jacob Severn moved to second the challenge Kunsman. The top two would stay that way ahead of a hard charging Aidan Borden who started mid pack. Ryan Groff and Mike Thompson rounded out the top five. Jacob Severn, Joey Amantea, and Dakota Barlet won the 600 Micro Sprint heat races. On Friday June 12 a Bieber brother locked into the chase with a win. It was Travis Bieber taking his first Linda’s Speedway win leading every lap of the Slingshot feature. Travis fended off the early race challenges on his brother Brett Bieber and then defending champion Dave Carraghan. Bieber, Carraghan, Cody Kline, Justin Thompson, and Chuck Whary. Slingshot heat races went to Tim Roeder and Dave Carraghan. The MGS Trailer Sales Modified A Main saw three different leaders. How many times the lead was exchanged is a very different story. Cody Manmiller gave way to Brianna James who then turned the top spot over for good to Sam Scicchitano in a fantastic race for the lead. Richie Hitzler peaked out front but never officially led a lap. Hitzler finished second to the 28s. James, Dylan McCrone, and Chaz Buchinsky were the top five finishers. Tiffany Hitzler and Sam Scicchitano took checkered flags in the heats. Logan Rumsey won both the heat race and feature race for the restricted 600 Micro Sprints. Jude Siegel was second trailed by Hunter McFadden and Amanda Hayes. Rumsey’s victory lane photo was featured on the NBC broadcast of the NASCAR race on Saturday night as part of their grassroots racing campaign.

June 19 will feature racing from the 270 Micro Sprints, Winged 600 Micro Sprints, Modifieds, Chargers, and 125 Micro Sprints. This will be the second half of the back to back Autograph nights at the speedway.

Remember we are just a few weeks away from the return of the USAC National Midget series to Linda’s Speedway. Chad Boat was the first to the checkered flag two years ago when the Midgets last race the ¼ mile. The event was rained out a year ago.

For more information on Linda’s Speedway you can visit the LindasSpeedway.com. You can also follow Linda’s Speedway on our various social media sites (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). You can also call the speedway hotline at 717-865-5330. Linda’s Speedway is located at 200 Silvertown Road, Jonestown, Pa 17038.

Gates open at 5:30 for weekly racing and practice starts at 7. Racing follows immediately after practice.

Linda’s Speedway admission to the grandstands continues to be $6 for adults (13 and over), $3 for ages 6-12, and 5 and under is free. Pit Admission or an all access pass to the pit area is available for $25.

In the event of rain, grandstand and pit passes will be honored unless qualifying is complete for the event, in which the features will be made up at a later time unless noted otherwise by speedway management. If an event is rained out and considered a complete cancelation, patrons may mail passes to the speedway with a self-addressed stamped envelope for a refund within 30 days of the event or their rain check will be good for free entry at one of the next two races.

45 views0 comments