Maurer scores in 600 Micro Sprints; Harris first in Modifieds

It was a rough night to be the early race leader at Linda’s Speedway on June 28.

Jason Dunkleberger was the only driver that was leading early in an event and went on the win. Dunkleberger bested the field of four Sharp Mini Late Models taking the checkered flag over Tucker Gordner, Jorgie Sweger and Dustin Dunkleberger.

The current point leader in 270 Micro Sprints isn’t going to start on the front row often and not be the guy in victory lane. Devin Harron showed the way for the first 19 laps of the feature Friday before Tommy Kunsman caught and passed the leader for the win in lap traffic. Kunsman, Harron and last week’s winner Mike Boyer were the top three finishers. Ben Stolz and Matt Fernsler were the top five finishers.

Ryan Greth raced into the top spot early in the Hyper Racing/Hoosier Tire Wingless 600 Micro Sprint feature event. Jesse Maurer creeped into the three-car battle for the race lead and eventually took the top spot on lap 18 from his seventh starting spot. Tommy Kunsman charged from ninth into second but settled there with Maurer taking the checkered flag first and ending Kunsman’s Linda’s Speedway winning streak. Ryan Groff came from eighth to finish in third. Greth and Tyler Lindsey rounded out the top ten finishers.

The two previous winners in the restricted 600 Micro Sprints did battle for the third win of the season. Logan Rumsey ran the inside line while Tyler Henry used the outside. Henry was eventually able to snap the lead away from Rumsey just past halfway and led the remainder of the way for the win. Rumsey was second with Hunter McFadden and Jude Siegel finishing out the field.

Ty Hoke looked poised to win his first Modified feature race on Friday before his car spun coming off of turn two on lap 14. The heartbreaker for Hoke turned into a classic battle between Ray Gradwell and Kenny Harris for the win. Harris was able to outmaneuver Gradwell to take the checkered flag. Gradwell was second followed by Matt Warner, Chaz Buchinsky, and Sam Scicchitano.

The white flag was in the air on the field. Chucky Kimmel was the race leader and Charles Wengerd was second. As Kimmel’s car entered turns one and two it spun handing the lead to Wengerd who withstood the late race restart to take the win. His second in a row. Troy Hostetter was second followed by Josh Demmy. Demmy came from last after a caution on the first lap of the feature. Dave McMeans enjoyed his best run of the season in fourth and Kimmel rebounded for fifth.

Next Friday, July 5, the 270, Winged 600, and 125 Micro Sprints will be racing. Details regarding the event will be posted on and Facebook throughout the week.

For more information on Linda’s Speedway you can visit the You can also follow Linda’s Speedway on our various social media sites (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). You can also call the speedway hotline at 717-865-5330. Linda’s Speedway is located at 200 Silvertown Road, Jonestown, Pa 17038.

Gates open at 5:30 for weekly racing and practice starts at 7. Racing follows immediately after practice.

Linda’s Speedway admission to the grandstands continues to be $6 for adults (13 and over), $3 for ages 6-12, and 5 and under is free. Pit Admission or an all access pass to the pit area is available for $25.

In the event of rain, grandstand and pit passes will be honored unless qualifying is complete for the event, in which the features will be made up at a later time unless noted otherwise by speedway management. If an event is rained out and considered a complete cancelation, patrons may mail passes to the speedway with a self-addressed stamped envelope for a refund within 30 days of the event or their rain check will be good for free entry at one of the next two races.