Hollenbach Wins Throwdown; Harron wins Two in a Row

New to Linda’s Speedway in 2019 is starting the previous weeks winner in the ninth starting spot (based on car count). Devin Harron won on opening night, started ninth, and made a lap 20 pass of race leader Bill Gray to take his second win of 2019. Scott Gingrich led much of the event before his car slowed just past halfway. Gray was second followed by Mike Boyer. Jason Swavely and Mason Peters were the top five finishers.

Heat races for the 270 Micro Sprints were won by Scott Gingrich and Jason Swavely.

Jason Swavely is a former Hyper Racing/Hoosier Tire 600 Micro Sprint champion. Swavely has been busy away from the track with his family, but took advantage of the opportunity to return Friday night. PJ Williams led the feature event until lap 13 when Swavely worked his way by off of a restart. Once in the front of the field Swavely never looked back on his way to the win. Jacob Severn and Ryan Greth were the podium finishers. Nash Ely and Joey Amantea closed out the top five finishers.

Ryan Greth and Nash Ely were heat race winners for the 600 Micro Sprints.

Dylan McCrone has knocked on the door of his first Linda’s Speedway MGS Trailer products Modified win for two seasons. It finally opened in the first race of 2019 for the Modifieds. McCrone took over the top spot on lap six and held of challenges from Kenny Harris and Eric Whitby over the final laps to claim the checkered flag. Harris, Whitby, Matt Warner, and Brian Blankenbiller took top five spots.

Richie Hitzler and RJ Smith won the heat races for the Modifieds.

Tyler Henry joined his dad Tim and many of his other family members as a Linda’s Speedway feature winners. Henry led every lap of the restricted 600 Micro Sprint feature event on Friday. Henry took the checkered flag over Logan Rumsey. Hunter McFadden, Ben Maier, and Jude Siegel were the top five. Dylan Kontra was sixth.

Henry won the heat race as well.

After an incredible performance in 2018 where Brian Wentzel took the front row challenge, went to the tail of the feature field, and won the Jonestown Throwdown for added bonus money. The open 4 cyl race once again took center stage with Wentzel winning the match races to again earn the option to take the front row challenge.

Wentzel did just that after being paired with a fan that would receive the jackpot as well if he was able to drive to the victory. Unfortunately, a flat tire ended Wentzel bid early in the event. Chris Smith was the other driver in the final match race end brought the field to the green flag. Josh Demmy quickly took over the top spot and led the early laps in a battle with Eric Hollenbach before Demmy got crossed up with a lap car dueling for the race. Hollenbach showed the way for the remaining laps taking the win. Troy Hostetter was second followed by Rob Storms, Smith, and 21st place starter Randy Getz.

Wentzel and Demmy won heat races. Wentzel, Hollenbach, Smith, and Demmy were round one match race winners with Wentzel and Smith meeting in the final.

May 31 racing will feature the 270, Winged 600, 125, and 250 Sportsman Micro Sprints, Modified Poker Series, and Slingshots.

June will open on the 7th with the 270 Micro Sprint time trial series running the King of the Wing. The Hyper Racing/ Hoosier Tire Wingless 600 Micro Sprints will be racing along with the Slingshots and Legends.

For more information on Linda’s Speedway you can visit the LindasSpeedway.com. You can also follow Linda’s Speedway on our various social media sites (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). You can also call the speedway hotline at 717-865-5330. Linda’s Speedway is located at 200 Silvertown Road, Jonestown, Pa 17038.

Gates open at 5:30 for weekly racing and practice starts at 7. Racing follows immediately after practice.

Linda’s Speedway admission to the grandstands continues to be $6 for adults (13 and over), $3 for ages 6-12, and 5 and under is free. Pit Admission or an all access pass to the pit area is available for $25.

In the event of rain, grandstand and pit passes will be honored unless qualifying is complete for the event, in which the features will be made up at a later time unless noted otherwise by speedway management. If an event is rained out and considered a complete cancelation, patrons may mail passes to the speedway with a self-addressed stamped envelope for a refund within 30 days of the event or their rain check will be good for free entry at one of the next two races.

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All