Ground Breaker to TK; Harron 270 Micro Sprint Winner


Nash Ely looked poised to take the Groundbreaker season opening event for the Hoosier Tire wingless 600 Micro Sprints. Ely led from the drop of the green flag until lap 20 when 12th place starter Tommy Kunsman made the winning pass of Ely. Tk’s charge from 12th capped off his second groundbreaker win. The first came with the Usac East Coast Midget Series.

Ryan Groff snuck by Ely in the closing laps for second. Ely, Aaron Bollinger, and Alex Bright were the top five finishers.

Jesse Maurer finished sixth followed by Tyler Lindsey, Bret Cronrath, Matt Warner, and Brianna Cronrath-Witmer.

Greth and Groff were heat race winners in the 600 Micro Sprint racers.

Former Linda’s Speedway champion Devin Harron jumped to the race lead quickly in the 2019 season opener for the 270 Micro Sprints. Harron had challenges from Mike Boyer, 19th place starter Tommy Kunsman, and a hard charging Brandon Heist at the end from ninth starting spot. Harron was able to fend off all challenges for the victory.

Heist finished second. Scott Gingrich finished out the podium finishers. Boyer and Austin Graby were the top five finishers.

Matt Fernsler, Mike Kreisler, Brandon Krock, Dan Lane, and Cameron Smith were the top ten finishers.

Gingrich and Heist were 270 Micro Sprint heat race winners.

In the first race to the chase for the Slingshots it was Ronnie Spitler putting in a clinic leading all 20 laps of the 600cc Performance Race 1. Former champions Justin Thompson and Dave Carraghan trailed Spitler in the closing laps, but were not able to work around the race long leader. Spitler locks into the 2019 chase to the championship with the win.

Thompson, Carraghan, Brett Bieber, and rookie driver Zachary Steffy were the top five finishers.

Tyler Ulsh finished sixth followed by Nick Vinciguerra, Travis Bieber, Cody Kline, and Brett Spitler.

Travis Bieber and Justin Thompson won heat races for the Slingshots.

May 17 might have been the first race of the season, but the Charger race quickly turned back the clock for a flashback Friday feel. Ronnie Buck and Troy Hostetter battled for the win over the 15 lap main event. The two long time Linda’s Speedway racers battled with Buck holding the race lead until lap 12 when Hostetter took over for good.

Hostetter, the defending champion, took the win over Ed Hollenbach, Buck, Chucky Kimmel, and Chris Smith.

Josh Denny was sixth ahead of Justin Riegel, Don Stoudt, Darrel Wagner, and Dave McMeans.

Chris Smith and Chucky Kimmel were heat race winners for the 18 car field.

Friday May 24 Linda’s Speedway will return the annual running of the Jonestown Throwdown. The Throwdown will feature the Open 4 cyl racing it has in the past. The Open 4 Cyl Rules are 4 Cyl Engine, Roll Cage, Radial DoT Tires, Pump Gas (110 max) and car must pass safety inspection. Last year Brian Wentzel took the front row challenge and did the impossible driving from last to win and cash in on the bonus! What new feature will be added to the excitement this year?

The 270, Wingless 600, and restricted 600 Micro Sprints and Modifieds will be on the card as well.

May 10 rain checks will still be valid for one more race. May 3 rain checks will no longer we accepted at the speedway for a refund but may be mailed in for a refund.

For more information on Linda’s Speedway you can visit the You can also follow Linda’s Speedway on our various social media sites (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). You can also call the speedway hotline at 717-865-5330. Linda’s Speedway is located at 200 Silvertown Road, Jonestown, Pa 17038.

Gates open at 5:30 for weekly racing and practice starts at 7. Racing follows immediately after practice.

Linda’s Speedway admission to the grandstands continues to be $6 for adults (13 and over), $3 for ages 6-12, and 5 and under is free. Pit Admission or an all access pass to the pit area is available for $25.

In the event of rain, grandstand and pit passes will be honored unless qualifying is complete for the event, in which the features will be made up at a later time unless noted otherwise by speedway management. If an event is rained out and considered a complete cancelation, patrons may mail passes to the speedway with a self-addressed stamped envelope for a refund within 30 days of the event or their rain check will be good for free entry at one of the next two races.

177 views0 comments