Hendershot wins 20th Race of Champions

Jacob Hendershot topped off the perfect night at Linda’s Speedway on night one of the 2018 National Open by winning the Hoosier Tire MidAtlantic Race of Champions. Hendershot passed race leader Tommy Kunsman as Kunsman’s engine expired. Once at the front of the field Hendershot drove away for the victory representing the Bridgeport Poker Series. Hendershot’s victory came over another Spirit Auto champion Nick Skias. Pat Bealer, Mike Rutherford, and Kyler Heiney rounded out the top five finishers.

Brandon Edgar was sixth followed by Chase Metheny, Glenn Macomber, Randy West, and Hayden Miller.

Jacob Hendershot’s winning ways were not limited to the Race of Champions. He won the Mongoose Chassis qualifier for the 270 Micro Sprints to earn the pole for the $3,000 to win National Open event on Saturday night. Hendershot’s victory came after he charged from his tenth starting spot to the lead. Richie Hartman finished second ahead of Devin Harron, Pat Bealer, and Tyler Ulrich.

Andrew Dietrich took advantage of some different opportunities to win the Scheuermann Excavating Qualifier race. Brian Borawiec Jr. looked like the potential winner until his car broke in the midst of a tight battle with Dietrich for the top spot. Dietrich held off late race advances from Scott Gingrich and Cory Myers. Jeff Haefke came from 15th to finish fourth followed by Toby Blumenshine in the top five.

Nunzi Allegrucci started tenth on his quest to the front of the opening Kunsman Paving Qualifier race. Allegrucci passed Josh Stoyer and held off Stoyer on a few late race restarts to take the win. Stoyer finished second with Mike Rutherford third. Jason Swavely and TJ Greve were the remaining cars in the top five spots.

Once points were accumulated for the 270 Micro Sprints from Time Trial and Qualifier Races; Hendershot’s name was at the top of the list. Hendershot will be awarded money from DBY Motorsports for having the highest point total.

Qualifier winners automatically locked into the Saturday A Main. Other drivers grabbing spots in the A Main based on Friday points were Devin Harron, Pat Bealer, Mike Rutherford, Scott Gingrich, Brian Marriott, Josh Stoyer, and Richie Hartman.

Hendershot and Ross Perchak tied for DBY Motorsports quick time in the 270 Micro Sprints with the second lap tie breaker favoring Hendershot.

Heat races were run for the 600 Micro Sprints presented by 600cc Performance. Hayden Miller, Jim Young, Garrett Bard, Steve Whary, and Jim Radney were the heat race winners.

Hayden Miller set the Hyper Racing 600 Micro Sprint quick time.

1 view