Schoenly opens Chase with win; Bollinger top 600 MS driver

Blaire Schoenly used the first race of the chase for the Slingshots to shine bright right into victory lane. Schoenly dominated the feature event. She led every lap over her sister Tayllor Schoenly to make it a family sweep of the top two spots. Ronnie Spitler finished third. The first of the chase drivers in the finish was Brett Bieber who finished fourth. Fellow chaser Justin Thompson finished in fifth.

Dave Carraghan, the point leader, was sixth followed by Dave Labe, Lindsey Garl, Chuck Whary, and Austin Daniels. Ronnie Spitler and Blaire Schoenly won the heat races prior to the first race of the chase. Rj Smith fended off challenges in the closing laps of the Modified feature from Sam Scicchitano to end his season long winless streak at Linda's Speedway. Smith and Scicchitano held off Tiffany Hitzler, Kenny Harris, and Lance Garrison in the top five. Brian Blankenbiller was sixth ahead of Tyler James, Ryan Stoner, Joe Plunkett, and Brianna James. Modified heat race checkered flag went to Brian Blankebiller and Sam Scicchitano. Tommy Kunsman took the race top spot in the Fredericksburg Eagle Hotel 270 Micro Sprint feature event from Austin Graby on lap three. The event was plagued with yellow flags early in the running. Once settled in the race went green until lap 21 when the race leader and point leader, Kunsman, slowed on the front stretch. Mike Boyer took command from there leading the rest of the way for the win. Boyer crossed the line ahead of Brandon Firestine, Christi Sweigart, Matt Fernsler, and Steve Bull. Adam Harnish charged from 15th to finish sixth. Nate Gibble, Josh Ohlinger, Dallas Sanders, and Keith Brown also came from outside the top 15 starting spots to finish in the top ten. Micro Sprint heat races went to Brent Bull, Scott Gingrich, and Mike Boyer. It was Aaron Bollinger slipping around Joey Amantea on lap ten that propelled the driver of the 16a to his first Linda's Speedway win in the Hoosier Tire Wingless 600 Micro Sprints. Amantea finished second with Tyler Brehm, Tommy Kunsman, and Dakota Barlet the top five finishers. Nash Ely was sixth followed by Mike Thompson, Christian Bruno, Jacob Severn, and Tyler Lindsay. The Wingless 600 Micro Sprint heat races were won by Ken Murray, Tyler Brehm, and Tommy Kunsman. Mike Glass took the lead in the 125 Micro Sprint feature race on lap one and led the remaining laps to take the victory. Glass held off the challenges of Aj Gerhart and Austin Graby to take the win. Graby finished second followed by Matthew Kreider, Gerhart, and Ron Wechter. Emily Dove rounded out the field. Austin Graby won the 125 Micro Sprint heat race. Next Friday night Linda's Speedway will return with a show feature four divisions. The 270 Micro Sprints, Chargers, and Slingshots will join the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints in the Iron Cowboy race. The 600 Micro Sprints will run time trials for this race. Gates open at 5 with hot laps at 7 and racing to follow. There has been a change to the schedule for the September 7th race. The USAC East Coast Midgets were scheduled to race that night, but have been removed from the schedule. The 270 Micro Sprints, Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, and Modifieds will remain on the schedule. It will also be Harrisburg Senators Night at the speedway. For more information on the speedway you can visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and always on You can also call the speedway hotline at 717-865-5330.

7 views0 comments