Ely Bests 600 Micro Sprints

The most recent 270 Micro Sprint feature winner Austin Graby ran into the top spot in the 25 lap feature event before a yellow flag bunched up the field. Off the restart it was the defending speedway champion Tommy Kunsman taking the top spot on his way to his sixth win of the year. TK's victory came over Devin Harron, Aiden Svanda, Nate Gibble, and Christi Sweigart who started 15th. Matt Fernsler was sixth followed by Mike Boyer, Brandon Gibble, Jeremy Eisenhauer, and Brandon Krock. Fredericksburg Eagle Hotel 270 Micro Sprint heat races were won by Ronald Helmick and Tommy Kunsman. Nash Ely had to survive a big push by Tyler Brehm at the end of the feature event in lap traffic to take his first 600 Micro Sprint win. Ely and Brehm traded the top spot in traffic before Ely secured the first spot for the win. Brehm was second with Garrett Bard rounding out the top three. Tommy Kunsman and Hayden Miller finished out the top five. BJ Antonio, Kyle Craker, Chris Gerhart, Jesse Maurer, and Travis Keiser were the top ten finishers. Garrett Bard, Austin Quick, BJ Antonio, and Kyle Cracker won the Hoosier Tire winged 600 Micro Sprint heat races. Mike Thompson and Jesse Maurer win consolation events. Richie Hitzler started from the tail after being penalized early in the feature event Friday night for the Xcel 600 Modifieds. Hitzler drove back through the field and made a late race pass of race leader RJ Smith for the top spot. Hitzler crossed the line first at the end of the feature event. Smith finished in second. Jeromy Guistwite finished third. Brian Blankenbiller finished fourth and Madyson Pacheco was fifth. Ryan Stoner finished in sixth trailed by Ty Hoke, Sam Scicchitano, Ian Schroeder, and Kenny Harris, Modified heat race checkered flags went to Richie Hitzler and Rj Smith. Charles Wengerd returned to Linda's Speedway after going over the wall the last time he was here. Wengerd took the best redemption possible by getting his first victory of the year holding off many challenges by Ed Hollenbach. Hollenbach ended up giving up second on the final lap to his teammate Dale Kreiser. Hollenbach was third. Aaron Updegraff finished in fourth followed by Troy Hostetter. Chris Smith was sixth ahead of Justin Riegel, Josh Demmy, Darrel Wagner, and John Manz. Heat races for the Chargers went to Josh Demmy and Aaron Updegraff. Next Friday, July 27, the 270 Micro Sprints, Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Modifieds, Slingshots, and 125 Micro Sprints will be racing. Gates open at 5 and hot laps start at 7. Don't forget we are just a few weeks away from the annual stop of the USAC National Midget series. August 3 Midgets best racers will tackle the 1/4 mile. The Wingless 600 Micro Sprints will also be on the card running the Barry Boyd Memorial Race. For more information on the speedway you can visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and always on LindasSpeedway.com. You can also call the speedway hotline at 717-865-5330.  

4 views0 comments