Boyer Back to Victory Lane; Antonio & Hitzler win thrillers

Friday night marked another chapter in a growing rivalry between Mike Boyer and Tommy Kunsman in the 270 Micro Sprints. The two drivers dueled for a championship a year ago, a win last Friday night, and Friday night in the Fredericksburg Eagle Hotel 270 Micro Sprint main event they were back at the front. Boyer showed the way early while Kunsman pressured. Boyer secured the top spot as Kunsman began to fade with an engine issue. With Kunsman out of the picture Boyer’s dominance showed through. The biggest challenge Boyer faced in the 25-lap feature race was lap traffic. Traffic was heavy with a long green flag run, but Boyer remained unshaken driving to his first win at the speedway in over two years.

Brandon Firestine was second followed by Jarid Kunkle, Scott Gingrich, and Ronald Helmick. Sixth through tenth across the line were Stone Keller, Tommy Kunsman, Matt Fernsler, Austin Graby, and Devin Adams.

Heat race wins went to Boyer and Kunsman.

BJ Antonio looked poised to win the first event of the season for the Hoosier Tire winged 600 Micro Sprints. A late race yellow showed the leader had signs of a problem when his car started to make a concerning noise. Antonio was able to bring the car up to speed on the restart and held off the challenges of Tommy Kunsman in the closing laps to claim his first Linda’s Speedway 600 Micro Sprint victory. Kunsman settled for the runner up spot. Hayden Miller, Brian Carber, and Steve Whary were the top five finishers. Austin Quick, Jesse Maurer, Tim Buckwalter, Andrew Layser, and Chistian Bruno made up the top ten.

Antonio, Miller, and Tyler Brehm won heat races while Logan Spahr took the checkered flag in the consolation.

Austin Graby led every lap of the 125 Micro Sprint feature win to take the win. The defending champion saw the checkered flag over his team mate Mike Glass and Emily Dove. Ronald Wechter and Kalani Adams made up the top five finishers.

Troy Hostetter followed up a runner up finish in the season opening event for the Chargers by taking the win Friday night in the night cap race. Hostetter shot into the race lead from his second starting spot and led team mate Dale Kreiser for much of the affair. Kreiser finished in the runner up spot. Defending champion Aaron Updegraff was third. Chris Smith and Josh Demmy finished fourth and fifth. Chris Cunnane came home with a sixth place finished trailed by Josh Michael, Ed Hollenbach, Don Stoudt, and Daryl Wagner.

Updegraff and Hostetter won heat races for the Chargers.

The green flag dropped on the Modified season at Linda’s Speedway Friday. It was a touring event for the Xcel series as well. Richie Hitzler, the defending Modified champion, picked up right where he left off in 2017 by setting the pace early on. Hitzler made some bold moves in lap traffic to stay in the front of the field as DJ Hunt began to close on the leader’s advantage. Hunt lurked in the second spot until the last lap when he challenged Hitzler in a drag race to the start finish line. Hitzler held on for the victory by .041 over Hunt. Michael Burrows was third with Josh Pepe and Brian Blankenbiller making up the top five finishers.

Sam Scicchitano, Jon Pepe, Hunter Diehl, Kenny Harris, and Aaron Bowes completed the top ten.

Heat race wins went to Hizler, Hunt, and Burrows while Bruce Mills won the consolation race.

This Friday, April 27, will be the Earman Fulk Memorial race featuring the first Championship Energy ACTION TRACK TAKEOVER NIGHT of the season. The Speedstrs will make their first start of 2018 at Linda’s Speeday on Friday night joined by the 270 Micro Sprints, Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, and Slingshots. Both the All Star and Junior Slingshots will be in action Friday. Gates open at 5 and practice starts at 7. Admission to the grandstands will be $14 for adults. Pit Admission will be $25. More information can be found on,, Facebook, or Twitter.

10 views0 comments