top of page

Buckwalter 600 Micro Sprint Winner; TK & Carrahgan repeat Hollenbach in Charger Opener

Tommy Kunsman moved to the front of the field on the parade laps for the Fredericksburg Eagle Hotel 270 Micro Sprints on Friday April 13th. Scott Gingrich had set the quick time in the opening event for the annual time trial series fueled by Roadrunner Race Fuels. Gingrich had an engine issue in the heat races handing the front row starting spot over to “TK”. Kunsman, coming off an opening night win, looked to be the car to beat. Mike Boyer soon moved into the runner up spot and used a late race yellow flag to take the lead away from Kunsman with five laps to go. As the laps dwindled the battled intensified until Kunsman was able to grab the lead for good on his way to his second win of the year. Ross Perchak slipped by Boyer on the closing lap to take second. Boyer was third. Ben Stolz ran to a strong fourth place effort followed by Gingrich who charged from the tail of the field.

Logan Diehl, Mason Peters, Jarid Kunkle, Devin Adams, and Ronald Helmick rounded out the top ten finishers.

Mike Boyer, Logan Diehl, and Ross Perchak were the heat race winners for the 270 Micro Sprints.

Tim Buckwalter made his debut in the Driven Chassis 600 Micro Sprint on Friday night at Linda’s Speedway. Buckwalter dominated the Hoosier Tire Wingless 600 Micro Sprint feature event from start to finish. Opening night winner Tommy Kunsman trailed Buckwalter at the end of the event, but the checkered flag flew before a battle ever developed between the two. Austin Quick, BJ Antonio, and Jacob Severn were the top five finishers.

Sixth through tenth went to Devin Gundrum, Nash Ely, Kenny Harris, Brandon Heist, and rookie driver Christian Bruno.

Heat wins went to Austin Quick, Tim Buckwalter, Devin Gundrum, while the consolation win went to Ken Murray.

Dave Carraghan has started the 2018 season off with a bang at Linda’s Speedway in the Slingshots. After another win on Friday night, Carraghan is now two for two in feature events. Carraghan held off Anthony Raisner and Travis Bieber for the victory. Brett Bieber charged from the tail after an issue in the heat race to finish fourth ahead of Ronnie Spitler.

Reese Nowotarski, Jon Swift, Blaire Schoenly, Chuck Whary, and Dylan Hoch made up the top ten finishers in the feature event.

Carraghan and Raiser were het race winners.

When heat race winners Chris Cunnane and Josh Demmy got together in turn three on lap one of the Charger main event all chaos broke loose. The two cars soon were part of a group of cars tangled together. Out of the accident Eric Hollenbach took the race lead and never looked back as the multi-time champion stole the show on opening night and went to victory lane. Eric’s brother Ed followed him across the line with Troy Hostetter completing a podium sweep for the Kimmel racing cars. Demmy recovered to finish in fouth followed by rookie driver Darrel Wagner.

Chris Smith, Aaron Updegraff, Devon Klawitter, Chucky Kimmel, and Chris Cunnane rounded out the top ten.

The ever exciting Pizza Shop of Etters Central Pa Legends did not disappoint on Friday night. Austin Bellemare passed early race leader Bill Diehl on lap five on the 20 lap feature event. Bellemare showed the way before Scott Houdenshell made an outside move on the restart to take control of the field. Houdenshell raced at the front until lap 16 when Bellemare shot back into the first position to stay.

Bellemare crossed the line first with Houdenshell, Diehl, Blaine Leppo, and Tim Henry completing the top five. Jeremy Ott was sixth trailed by Trent Yoder, Alex Schmiedel, Rick Hartwig, and Travis Perry.

Heat wins went to Scott Houdenshell and Tim O’Sheehan.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page