Tommy Kunsman wins RoC: Allegrucci & Brehm earn pole spots for Nationals

Tommy Kunsman capped off the dream season at Linda’s Speedway with the win in the 19th annual Race of Champions Friday night of the National Open weekend. Kunsman won all three of the Linda’s Speedway point titles in the 270, Winged and Wingless 600 Micro Sprints.

Kunsman took the race lead on the opening lap from Brandon Fredericks. Brian Marriott challenged Kunsman before going to the pit area with a problem. Mike Rutherford also pulled beside the race leader numerous times in the closing laps before settling for the runner up spot. Brandon Edgar, Austin Graby, and Mason Peters were the top five finishers.

Sixth through tenth went to Fredericks, Rick Francis, Ben McCall, Alex Ross, and Andrew Locuson.

Time Trials started the weekend for the National Open races in both the 270 and 600 Micro Sprint Class’s.

Devin Harron was the F&W Auto quick timer in the 270 Micro Sprints. Harron was the first car out for Time Trials making him the first driver in 270 Micro Sprint National Open History to set quick time being the first car onto the track.

In the 600 Micro Sprints it was Tyler Brehm taking the 600cc Performance quick time award.

From that point on the two divisions took different routes for the rest of their racing. The 270 Micro Sprints ran qualifiers while the 600 Micro Sprints went to heat races.

Tyler Brehm won his heat race to lock himself into the pole position for tomorrows 40 lap 600 Micro Sprint National Open paying $3,000 to the winner.

Other heat race winners included Tommy Kunsman, PJ Williams, Garrett Bard, Kyle Spence, and Heath Hehnly.

Before qualifiers were run for the 270 Micro Sprints there was a last chance qualifier that was won by Scott Hawkins.

Tommy Kunsman wrestled the race lead away from Jesse Maurer in Kunsman Paving Qualifier 1. Kunsman and Maurer ran side by side for quite a few laps before the battle was settled. Kunsman won with Maurer, Brandon Hawkins, Morgan Rochelle, and Alex Swift completing the top five finishers.

Jacob Hendershot and Nunzi Allegrucci again treated the fans to a tight battle in Mik’d Up Podcast/ RTS Chassis Qualifier 2. Allegrucci charged from his tenth starting spot to challenged Hendershot, taking the lead at one point, before Hendershot got it back for good. Allegrucci, Brandon Fredericks, Austin Graby, and Brian Marriott completed the top five in Q2.

In Viper Chassis Qualifier 3 it was the defending National Open champion Pat Bealer making the winning pass of Stone Keller. Keller won a qualifier at last years National Open. Bealer beat Keller, Randy West, Quinn Roberts, and Brandon Edgar to the line.

Drivers accumulated points from time trials and the qualifiers for the nights racing. Qualifier winners and the top seven cars in points locked into the main event. That secured starting spots for ten drivers in Saturday’s $3,000 to win 40 lap National Open.

Allegrucci was the top point earner with a total of 395 points edging out Pat Bealer by one point. Bealer had 394. They will share the front row for the A Main for the second year in a row. Alex Swift, Tommy Kunsman, Mike Rutherford, Austin Graby, Brandon Edgar, Randy West, Andrew Dietrich all locked in on points. Hendershot was 11th in points, but earns the tenth starting spot in the feature via his qualifier win.

Full points, results, and more information can be found on

Saturday October 21st will be the season finale National Open day two at the Speedway. Gates open at 2, hot laps at 4:30, and racing at 5:30.

Admission to the grandstands will be $6 and pit admission $25.

0 views0 comments