Harron & Morral win Micro Sprint feature; Hitzler Wins Race and Title

It has been a year to forget for Devin Harron on and some off the race track. His work schedule changed and it took the defending Jersey Joe’s Boardwalk Café 270 Micro Sprint champion out of contention for this year’s title. Recently Harron spent some time in the hospital with an elbow injury. Friday night he was back behind the wheel and there was little to no rust.

Harron took the lead away from John Ruoss on lap three and never looked back on his way to victory lane. Scott Gingrich tried on a few restarts, but settled for second on this night. Mike Boyer finished out the podium finishers.

Quinn Roberts was fourth followed by Morgan Rochelle in fifth.

Austin Graby came from the 21st starting spot to finish in sixth followed by Brian Sholley, Patrick Kern, Nate Gibble, and Anthony Yerger.

It was the Alpine Build Supply season finale for the 600 Modified Friday night. Richie Hitzler clintched the championship by signing in so the drama for the title was by the way side when the 25 lap feature came to the green flag.

Kenny Harris and Dylan McCrone spent most of the race running one two through various restarts. It was a lap 22 restart that allowed McCrone to pass Harris on the outside for the top spot. Soon Hitzler, who start tenth, was nipping at McCrone tail for the lead.

McCrone’s time at the front was shirt lived when his car blew up on lap 23. Hitzler inherited the race lead.

On the restart Harris took the top spot back for lap 24, before Hitzler made the winning pass on the final lap to end his championship bid with the win. Harris was second with RJ Smith third. Mike Burrows and Sam Scicchitano were the top five finishers.

Jason Dunkleberger was sixth just ahead of Brian Blankenbiller, Jason Mills, who started 24th, Matt Warner and Joe Carter.

If it were not for bad luck Hayden Miller would have had no luck in the Hoosier Tire 600 Micro Sprint feature on Friday night. Miller was the race long leader when he got to lap traffic on lap 19. Right as the defending winged 600 Micro Sprint champion caught the back of the field Brian Kramer’s car broke. As Kramer’s car stopped Miller had no where to go and the two cars hooked together ending Miller’s bid for the win.

Kameron Morral was in the right place at the right time and took over the lead. Morral had just taken second from BJ Antonio the lap prior to the yellow flag. Morral started seventh. He had raced his way to the front for a chance to win and that chance presented itself with five to go.

Once Morral was out front he pulled away to the win over Antonio and Jesse Maurer. Nash Ely and Steve Whary completed the top five finishers.

Sixth through tenth finishing spots went to Bradley Weber, Charles Hunt, Justin Foster, Randy Kunkle, and Jim Young.

Next Friday night the 270 & winged 600 Micro Sprints are back in action along with the Charger Challenge race open to any 4cyl race car. The 4cyl’s must run on pump gas and have DOT tires.

Gates open at 5:30 and hot laps will start at 7.

For more information on Linda’s Speedway you can visit LindasSpeedway.com or follow the speedway on Facebook and Twitter. You can also call the speedway hotline at (717)865-5330.