Kunsman doubles up & wins title; Labe & Herve first time Slingshot winners

The final point event of the season for the Jersey Joe’s Boardwalk Café 270 Micro Sprints pushed off on Friday night. Tommy Kunsman, Mike Boyer, and Scott Gingrich all had a possible shot at winning the title.

Boyer bolted into the race lead from his fourth starting spot at the drop of the green flag. Kunsman started eighth and slowly came to the front. A few yellow flags bunched the field back up. Kunsman took second after a lap 10 restart.

Boyer worked through lap traffic perfectly while Kunsman tailed. All it took was one minor slip and Kunsman shot by Boyer into the top spot on lap 23. Boyer tried numerous times, but couldn’t work by the race leader.

Kunsman took the checkered flag to claim the victory as well as the 2017 championship. The two were separated by only five points going into the feature.

Boyer was second followed by John Wagner Jr., Kyle Weiss, and Scott Gingrich.

Jesse Maurer was sixth ahead of Ken Miller, Brandon Edgar, Toby Blumenshine, and Austin Graby.

The Hoosier Tire Winged 600 Micro Sprints were back in action Friday after some time off. The inversion pill for the feature gave Nate Brinker the opportunity to show the field around the speedway in the opening laps. Brinker spends most of his time racing without a wing.

Brinker led the first seven laps of the race before Tommy Kunsman wrestled the top spot away. Kunsman led the raining laps holding off the challenges of Tyler Brehm and Nash Ely. Brehm and Ely came home second and third.

Ryan Groff slipped by Brinker in the late stages of the race to finish fourth. Brinker was fifth. Brad Brown, Bret Cronrath, Hayden Miller, Tyler Walton, and Bj Antonio were the top ten finishers.

In a prelude to the Saturday Modified 50, drivers vided for a win on Friday that would lock them into the field for the Saturday race. RJ Smith led early and through quite a few early race restarts.

Once the race got going, it was Richie Hitzler in lap traffic taking the top spot from Smith. Caution four on lap 15 set up a great race for second as Hitzler got away.

Smith, Michael Burrows, Aaron Bowes, and Kenny Harris were neck and neck for the runner up spot. Hitzler crossed the line over one second ahead of the field with Smith winning out in the duel for second. Burrows, Bowes, and Harris rounded out the top five.

Nate Brinker was sixth just ahead of Sam Scicchitano, Jason Dunkleberger, Ryan Stoner, and Lance Garrison.

Austin Graby was conservative in Friday night 125 Micro Sprint season finale. Graby came into the event as the point leader. The guy second in points was Zach Hollinger. Hollinger took the race lead in the feature event from Kalani Adams on lap three.

Hollinger led the rest of the way, even after a close call battling for the top spot with Mike Glass coming to the end of the race. The two dove to the inside of a lap car. Glass did not finish the event.

Hollinger took the checkered flag, but it was not enough for the 2016 champion to repeat. Adams finished second and Graby ran third to clinch the title. Matt Kreider and Tyler Hershey were the rest of the top five finishers.

Glass, Ron Wechter, Brandon Stuck, Kyler Heiney, Dylan Barlip, and Jimmy Wampole were the rest of the field.

Slingshots had a busy night running a full program and then turning it right back around to run the first ever Slingshot Grand Prix roadcourse race.

In the first feature the fans were treated to a wheel to wheel battle when race long leader Dave Labe was challenged by Reese Nowotarski. Nowotarski continued to pressure Labe for a while, until he was able to pull side by side with the race leader multiple times in the last five laps. One time Labe even had to pull a cross over move with Nowotarski and a lap car to regain the lead.

It was a close finish with Mike Glass catching the leaders as they battled each other and the lap cars.

Labe held on for his first Slingshot win at Linda’s Speedway. It came over Nowotarski, Glass, Lindsey Garl, and Ronnie Spitler.

Brett Bieber finished in sixth ahead of Jonathan Swift, Austin Stufflet, Kyle Herve, and Jordan Moyer.

When the Grand Prix came out onto the track, Kyle Herve was gifted the pole starting spot when Austin Stufflet broke before ever coming onto the track.

Herve led early with pressure from Jon Swift. It wasn’t long before Mike Glass worked into second. Glass kept the pressure on Herve as a pair of former National Slingshot champions, Brett Bieber and Dylan Hoch, worked into the fray as well.

The leaders caught lap traffic coming to the final few turns.

Herve held on to win the first ever Grand Prix of Linda’s Speedway by the slightest of margin over Glass. Bieber and Hoch were third and fourth with Swift fifth.

Jordan Moyer was sixth ahead of Jerry Starks, Chuck Whary, Haley Thunberg, and Austin Daniels.

A big thank you to the Race Chaser’s Facebook page and Guy Smith from Roaming the Raceways for the support of the first ever Linda’s Speedway Grand Prix! Also thank you to the drivers for trying out the new concept.

Money was also raised throughout the night for TT Troops. TT Troops is a group raising money for Breast Cancer research. The group is headed by Terri Bucks, Mike and Kim Glass, and many other supporters. Raffles as well as various other fund-raising effort took place Friday night.

Linda’s Speedway is right back in action on Saturday, September 23, with the Modifieds, Slingshots, and Chargers. The Modifieds will compete in a 50 lap tour race. The Slingshots will be running the Lebanon Valley 50 which is also 50 laps in distance. The Chargers will close out their points paying season with the Charger Championship. The championship race runs over a 25 lap distance.

Gates open at 3 with practice at 5:15 and racing scheduled for 5:45. Admission to the grandstands will be $6 and pit admission with be $22.

Next Friday the speedway will return to its normal night of competition with the finale of the ARDC Midget season. The 270 Micro Sprints will also be in action in the final race of the Titan Wings Time Trial Series presented by Roadrunner Race Fuels. The 270 Micro Sprints will also be racing in the King of the Wing make up feature from May 12th. The Wingless 600 Micro Sprints will race in the annual Iron Cowboy race. It will be the final points race for both the 600 Micro Sprints and the Slingshots, who are also closing out their season.

Gates will open at 5 with racing at 7:30. Admission to the grandstands will be $8 and it admission will be $25.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All