Whary-Stratton wins 600 Main Events ; TK, Hollenbach, Glass, & Hitzler repeat

The Jersey Joe’s Boardwalk Café 270 Micro Sprint point standings closed up a little more with just three feature races left before a champion is decided. Tommy Kunsman, the runner up in the point standings, picked up his third win of the season after leading every lap of the feature event.

Kunsman’s win came over a hard charging Devin Harron and Ken Miller. Devin Adams and Scott Gingrich were the rest of the top five.

Sixth through tenth finishing spots were taken by Mike Boyer, the current point leader, Nick Skias, Jesse Maurer, Morgan Rochelle, and Brian Marriott.

Heat races for the 270 Micro Sprints went to Harron, Boyer, and Maurer.

Ross Perchak lead every lap of the 25 lap make up feature for the 270 Micro Sprints from July 28th.

Danny Stratton and Tyler Brehm changed the lead late in the makeup feature for the Hoosier Tire Wingless 600 Micro Sprints from August 4. Stratton came away with the victory. It was his first of the season. Tommy Kunsman also pressured Stratton in the closing laps but settled for the second spot. Third through fifth went to Ben McGowan, Jacob Severn, and Austin Quick.

Tyler Brehm was looking for some redemption in the second feature of the night for the Wingless racers. This time Steve Whary was the driver out front. Whary has been plagued by bad luck all season, and his bad luck would continue Friday night, but the timing was everything. Whary held off Brehm across the checkered flag before his team believes he might have lost an engine.

Whary, a former champion in the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, enjoyed the victory none-the-less. It was his first of the year. Brehm settled for second with Nash Ely, Danny Stratton, and Jacob Severn rounding out the top five finishers.

Austin Quick crossed the line in sixth with Ryan Groff, Brandon Heist, Ken Murray, and Josh Bewely in toe.

Heat race wins for the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints went to Brehm, Quick, and Kunsman.

Scott Gesford started from the front row for the first time in his career, but by lap three of the Alpine Building Supply Modified feature Richie Hitzler was in front to stay. Hitzler has been on a roll as of late winning the heat and feature on the same night three of the last four races including Friday night.

Cody Manmiller continued a strong second half of the year with a second place finish Friday. Aaron Bowes rounded out the podium. Dylan McCrone and Rj Smith completed the top five.

Sam Scicchitano, Brian Blankenbiller, Kenny Harris, Scott Gesford, and Ray Gradwell were the top ten finishers for the feature.

Hitzler won his heat race joined by Jason Dunkleberger and Madyson Pacheco. Michael Burrows won the consolation.

Matt Kreider showed the way for the first three circuits of the Gutshall’s Automotive 125 Micro Sprint feature event on Friday. Mike Glass took over on lap four and lead the rest of the way holding off a mid-race charge from Austin Graby. Graby came into the night as the point leader, but broke running second. Zach Hollinger came into the night second in points and gained on Graby with a runner up ginish to eventual winner Glass. Kreider rounded out a strong night with a third. Tyler Hershey and Brandon Stuck made up the top five finishers.

Ron Wechter, Dylan Barlip, Graby, and Rich Stuck were the rest of the field to cross the line in the main event. Graby won the heat race for the 125 Micro Sprints.

Former Charger Champion Chris Smith looked to be back in championship form Friday night as the race leader in the Appalachian Auto LLC Charger main event. Smith showed the way until lap ten when his right front tire started to go down.

Ed Hollenbach wasted no time continuing the pressure and eventually taking the top spot from Smith. Hollenbach and his teammate Troy Hostetter worked past the race leader.

Hollenbach, for the second year in a row, will go into the Charger championship race with all the momentum of a win in the last feature before the biggest race of the season. Hollenbach took the victory over Smith, Hostetter, Rob Pyle, and Josh Demmy.

Chucky Kimmel was sixth ahead of Aaron Updegraff, Chris Cunnane, Don Stoudt, and Sean Yeagly.

Josh Demmy was the Jasen’s Automotive Hard Charger coming from the 16th starting spot to finish fifth.

Linda’s Speedway is back in action on Friday September 15th with the final Action Track Takeover race of the season. This is your last chance to see the Speedstrs race in central Pa this season. The Usac All Pro Speedstrs will be racing and joined by the 270 and Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots, and Central Pa Legend Cars.

Gates open at 5 and hot laps will start at 6:45 with racing to follow hot laps.

Admission to the Grandstands will be $12 for adults and pit access will be $25.

You can find information on this event at LindasSpeedway.com, Facebook, or Twitter or you can visit the Action Track’s Facebook and Twitter accounts or find them online at Actiontrackusa.com. You can also call the Linda’s Speedway hotline at (717)865-5330.

2 views0 comments