T Ross is Boss in Takeover

Next ACTION TRACK TAKEOVER NIGHT September 15th: Speedstrs, 270 & Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots, and Central PA Legends

Friday night marked the fourth of five scheduled Action Track Takeover nights at Linda’s Speedway over the course of the 2017 season. Tyler Ross has shown some muscled in the first few races, but Friday night he was on the mend from an accident in his 410 Sprint Car last week.

Tom Mayberry led the field early on in the feature event while the battle waged on for second between Phil Meisner, Tyler Ross, and Stephen Nederostek. Ross tried to make a move into second but made contact with Meisner that almost sent him into the outside wall.

The yellow flag was displayed on lap eight. On the restart Meisner wrestled the race lead away from Mayberry while Ross slipped into second. Ross pressured Meisner for the next nine laps. Meisner and Ross began to trade the top spot from corner to corner on lap 18.

By lap 20 Ross secured the race lead and held on for his first Speedstr win at Linda’s Speedway. Meisner settled for second followed by Nederostek, Ohio’s Matt Westfall, and Tim Buckwalter who recovered from a flat tire on lap six.

The nights quick timer Briggs Danner was sixth with Steve Drevicki, Jason Rochelle, Doug Rose, and Jason Musser in chase to round out the top ten.

Jay Hartman and Tim Buckwalter won heat races.

The Speedstrs will return for their final start of the season at Linda’s Speeday on September 15th for the Lebanon Valley Classic.

The Jersey Joe’s Boardwalk Café 270 Micro Sprints were on the race track Friday when a local power outage took out the electric supply to the speedway and many of it’s neighbors.

At the time of the outage Devin Adams had the race in control from his front row starting spot while Ben Stolz chased Adams. Adams was the leader on lap 13 when the race was halted.

The field returned to the track about an hour later when the power was restored and Adams didn’t look like he missed a beat. Adams continued to lead when the yellow flag was thrown on lap 23 to set up a two lap shootout to finish the feature event.

On the restart Scott Gingrich pulled even with Adams and made the pass coming to the white flag. Adams made one last attempt in turn three and four, but Gingrich came to his second win in two races holding off Adams and Ken Miller.

Stolz and Devin Harron rounded out the top five finishers.

Sixth through tenth went to Mike Boyer, Tommy Kunsman, Morgan Rochelle, Brandon Firestine, and Mike Skias.

Gingrich and Harron won heat race for the 270 Micro Sprints.

Kenny Miller III took the race lead right out of the gate in the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Wingless 600 Micro Sprint feature event.

Miller withstood challenges from Ben McGowen, Tommy Kunsman, and Tim Buckwalter throughout the event, but lead every lap on his way to the victory.

Miller’s win was by .128 seconds over 14th starter Tim Buckwalter. Tyler Brehm took the final spot on the podium. Kunsman and Jesse Maurer were the rest of the top five.

Mike Thompson finished sixth ahead of McGowen, Richie Hitzler, consolation race winners Matt Carr, and Ryan Groff.

Heat winners for the 39 car field were Miller, Brehm, Kunsman, and Thompson.

The Wingless 600 Micro Sprints also ran a make up feature from July 28th to start the night. Nash Ely lead the race in the early laps before giving up the top spot on a restart to 14th place starter Tommy Kunsman.

Once Kunsman had control he never relinquished it. Ely led the first ten laps but had to settle for second. Tyler Brehm, Kenny Miller, and Dakota Barlet were the top five finishers.

Mike Thompson was sixth in front of Devin Gundrum, Steve Whary, Danny Stratton, and Joe Plunkett.

Brett Bieber had some hard luck in his heat race one week ago. Bieber looked to bounce back this week with a strong run in his heat race. When the feature race saw the green flag Bieber bolted into the race lead.

Bieber had a tough spot near half way on the race when he got to lap traffic. Not knowing how close the rest of the field was Bieber tried to pass two laps cars in the same turn when one of the cars slide up into the race leader. Bieber kept his car moving forward and continued on his way to his fourth win of the season at the speedway.

Dave Carraghan finished in second while Ronnie Spitler, Mike Glass, and Joe Toth closed out the top five.

Strong runs for Joey Vacarro, Chuck Whary, Austin Daniels, Tim Roeder, and Cole Stangle all had them in the top ten.

Mike Glass and Cole Stangle won heat races for the Slingshots.

Next Friday, September 8th, will be a packed night of racing. The 270 Micro Sprints will be joined by the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints. Both classes will compete in a full nights racing, but will also run make up races from earlier this season. The 270 Micro Sprints will run the rained out Manufacturer’s Night Time Trial race and the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints will run a feature from August 4th.

Also in action will be the 600 Modifieds, Chargers, and 125 Micro Sprints.

Gates Open at 5 with hot laps starting at 6:45.

For more information of this coming week or the speedway in general you can visit LindasSpeedway.com, Facebook, or Twitter. You can also call the speedway hotline at (717) 865-5330.

1 view0 comments