Glass Take 125 Micro Sprint Win; Carraghan Opens Speedweek with Win

The Gutshall’s Automotive 125 Micro Sprint feature came to the green flag with Austin Graby showing the way from the pole starting position. Graby led the first two laps before Mike Glass wrestled the race lead away on a restart. Glass would only lead one lap before Zach Hollinger took over the top spot. Over the next five laps, Glass and Hollinger would exchange the race lead until the halfway mark on lap 10. At that point, Hollinger held the top spot with Glass in chase. Hollinger continued to make the right decisions as the field worked through lap traffic. On lap 16, Glass took advantage of an opportunity to take the race lead away again. This time Glass kept it for good, leading the last four laps on his way to his first 125 Micro Sprint win. Hollinger was second, followed by Austin Graby, Jas Hehnly, and Brandon Stuck.

Sixth through tenth were Kody Hibshman, Noah Merkey, Rich Stuck, Dylan Barlip, Kalani Adams. Heat races for the 125s were won by Zach Hollinger and Mike Glass.

Although Mike Glass did a great job working through traffic in the 125 Micro Sprint Feature, his luck wasn’t quite as good in the Slingshot Speedweek opener. Glass led the whole race up til 5 to go when the race leaders got into lap traffic. Second place, Dave Carraghan, passed Glass when Glass got tangled with a lapped car. Once out front, Carraghan led the rest of the way to claim his first Linda’s Speedway Feature win. Mike Glass was second, and Seth Spayd rounded out the podium.

Dakota Kohler and Brett Bieber were the top five finishers. Scott Gray came across in sixth followed by Jared Silfee, Anthony Raisner, Samantha Muller, and Joe Toth.

Slingshot heat races were won by Seth Spayd and Dave Carraghan.

The Wingless 600 Micro Sprints started the night off with a make-up feature from May 12th. Kenny Murray used a bold move at the drop of the green flag to slide up in front of pole setter Tommy Kunsman for the race lead. On lap 10, a yellow flag was displayed that bunched the field back up. Previous to the yellow flag, Kunsman had his hands full with Jim Radney and Tyler Brehm. The restart saw Radney and Kunsman once again battling for the second spot.

The field would race until lap 13 when the yellow flag was thrown again. This time, Tyler Brehm would challenge Kunsman for second. Murray would get away from the race leaders. Kunsman held onto second and eventually caught Murray on lap 17. By lap 18, there was a new driver at the front of the field, Kunsman, now showing the way, brought Radney with him. Kunsman and Radney pulled away from Murray. Radney was never able to make a move by Kunsman as Kunsman won his third race of the season. Radney settled for second, and Murray was third. Brehm and Steve Whary rounded out the top five finishers.

BJ Antonio was able to hold off a closing Steve Bull for the sixth spot. Bull was seventh, trailed by Danny Stratton, Kenny Miller, and Kenny Harris.

Rain hit the speedway just before 10:00 postponing the regularly scheduled Wingless 600 Micro Sprint Feature, 270 Micro Sprint Feature, and Charger Feature. Make-up dates will be posted on when available.

Next Friday, August 11th, is living legends night honoring Greg Miller, Dale Kreiser, and Jason Rochelle. The Jersey Joes Boardwalk Café 270 Micro Sprints will be in action along with the wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Modifieds, the Appalachian Auto Chargers, and the Central PA Legends. Gates open at 5:00, and hot laps start at 7:00.

For more information on the speedway, you can call the hotline at 717-865-5330. You can also follow the speedway on facebook, twitter, and Instagram. is your one stop for all information on the speedway.

3 views0 comments