top of page

Bieber & Swavely beat rain July 28

A big night at Linda’s Speedway on July 28th was met with a mid-race program rain shower that turned into a continuous rain forcing the postponement of much of the racing program.

The night was set to celebrate the Race Chasing group as well as Roaming the Raceway track chasers. What made the event extra special for these fans is they could add a new track to their list of speedways seen with the new Linda’s Speedway road course layout for the Slingshots. The Slingshots competed in the night’s full program before the rain hit, but did not get to the “Grand Prix” race scheduled for the end of the night.

Brett Bieber made the proper adjustments to his car from the heat race to catch and pass race long leader Scott Gray just past the half way mark. Bieber was able to drive away from a close battle between Gray and Mike Glass as they battled for the runner up spot. When Bieber crossed the line for the checkered flag he captured his 18th career Linda’s Speedway victory.

Gray came home with a second place run followed by Glass, Joe Vaccaro, and Dennis Garl.

Early season winner Lindsey Garl was sixth followed by Matt Miller, Chuck Whary, Aiden Svanda, and Jon Swift.

Mike Glass won the heat race for the Slingshots.

The Sportsman Micro Sprints made their second of two appearances at the speedway this season. In the first race Mike Kreiser was almost able to grab his first win. He looked like he was poised to pick up right where he left off by grabbing the top spot at the drop of the green from fourth.

Kreiser led the first 12 circuits before Patrick Kirn made the pass for the race lead. Kirn held onto the top spot until lap 16 when Jason Swavely moved to the front for good. Swavely led the remaining four laps to capture the win.

Kirn was second trailed by Anthony Yerger, Kreiser, Louie Kirn, Sam Borger, Brian Kramer, and Clint Houser.

Swavely also won the Sportsman heat race.

The Titan Wings 270 Micro Sprint Time Trial Series fueled by Roadrunner Race Fuels was also in action Friday. Not only was there a full program to be run, but also the King of the Wing make up feature from May 12. Neither of the feature races were run due to the rain and will be made up at a later date.

Scott Gingrich set quick time and won the Dash. Devin Harron, Nick Skias, and Ross Perchak were all heat race winners.

The July 28th race served as Manufacturer’s Night where drivers that signed in for competition were given various items from Hoosier Tire, Bernheisel Race Components, Velocita Suits, Focus Shock Technologies, Precision Powder Coating, Keizer Wheels, Eagle Motorsports, Speedway Motors, Kims Kreations, Fastner Specialties, Saldana Racing Products, and Pyrotect Racing Cells.

The Hoosier Tire Wingless 600 Micro Sprints also fell victim to the rain before their feature could be completed. Kenny Harris and Devin Gundrum won heat races before the precipitation fell.

Make up dates are listed below and have been updated on the schedule listed on

For more news on the upcoming event and information of the series we encourage you to visit and click on the schedule tab to find the Time Trial series page. You can also find the series on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Next Friday, August 4, will be the Slingshot Speedweek opener along with the Jersey Joe’s Boardwalk Café 270 Micro Sprints, Hoosier Tire Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Appalachian Auto LLC Chargers, and the Gutshall’s Automotive 125 Micro Sprints. The Wingless 600 Micro Sprints will be making up a feature from May 12 as well. Gates open at 5:00 and Racing will start at 7:30.

270 Micro Sprints: Sept 8

270 Micro Sprint King of the Wing: Sept 29

Wingless 600 Micro Sprint: Sept 1

Slingshot Grand Prix: Sept 22

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page