top of page

Glass Ends Winless Drought; Kunsman in Tri-Track Challenge Finale

In the finale of the Tri-Track Challenge for the Hoosier Tire 600 Micro Sprints Tommy Kunsman once again shined. It was another 21 car that showed the way in the feature for much of the 25 lap feature. Tyler Brehm showed a lot of strength as he dominated the first 15 laps of the race. Kenny Miller and Steve Whary tested Brehm on restarts, but Brehm remained out front.

By the mid-part of the race the point battle in the three race Tri-Track Challenge series had really heated up. Jim Radney came into the night third in points, but at the half way mark of the feature race Radney had the point lead. Jason Swavely, a multi time TTC series champion and point leader ran in the middle of the pack trying to pick his way to the front to regain the points lead. Radney slipped just out of the racing groove which allowed Kunsman by. At the same time Swavely gained a spot by Nash Ely. That gave Swavely the one point advantage he would need to claim the championship when the checkered flag flew.

At the front of the field everyone was still chasing Brehm. Miller, Whary, and Kunsman were in a three wide race for second when Kunsman and Miller got together and Miller got into the wall ending his night. The yellow gave Kunsman and Whary a shot at Brehm via a restart with five laps to go. On the restart Kunsman was able to move around Brehm on the outside to take the top spot away for good. Kunsman took the win over Brehm, Whary, Radney, and Austin Quick.

Swavely, Nash Ely, Ryan Groff, Brandon Heist, and Dakota Barlet crossed the line in the top ten. Quick, Radney, and Brehm won heat race for the 600 Micro Sprints.

A battle between Mike Glass and Brett Bieber headlined the Slingshots on Friday. It’s been the story of most of the main events this season as Glass and Bieber vide for the top spot. Glass jumped into the race lead early before Bieber was able to take it away on a restart. A yellow flag reset the field and Glass went back into the race lead.

Bieber was left to try to hold off a hard charging Seth Spayd. Samantha Muller and Chuck Whary battled behind the race for second in a battle of their own for fourth. When Glass crossed the line for his 12th career Linda’s Speedway win Bieber was second and Spayd was third to set the podium finishers. Muller held off Whary for fourth.

Jon Swift finished sixth with Brett Spitler, Hunter Zimmerman, Tanner Jone, and Ronnie Spitler seventh through tenth.

The win ended a five years winless drought for Glass.

Scott Gingrich looked like the car to beat in the Jersey Joe’s Boardwalk Café 270 Micro Sprints after the heat races at Linda’s Speedway on Friday night. The feature would show that to be true. Morgan Rochelle led the first lap from the front row before Gingrich took the top spot away for good. Gingrich would drive away from the field putting each car up to the seventh spot a lap down.

Tommy Kunsman moved into second spot by lap three and kept pace with Gingrich. Kunsman was never able to close in a challenge Gingrich as he took the victory by 1.124 seconds. The win was the seventh of Scott Gingrich’s Linda’s Speedway career. Kunsman was second followed by Quinn Roberts. Roberts started 16th. Morgan Rochelle and Ken Miller finished out the top five finishers.

Mike Boyer, Zach Bealer, Zach Hollinger, Anthony Yerger, and Matt Hoffman were the top ten finishers in the 25 lap feature event.

Gingrich and Kunsman won heat races for the 270 Micro Sprints.

Richie Hitzler muscled the race lead away from Joe Carter on the opening lap of the Alpine Building Supply 600 Modified feature event. Hitzler was in search of his second win in a row in the Modifieds. Hitzler held off advances from Kenny Harris and Dylan McCrone throughout the feature. Harris made one last big charge on a lap 14 restart to no avail and Hitzler took the win. Harris finished second and McCrone was third. Sam Scicchitano and Joe Carter were the top five finishers.

Scott Gesford crossed the line in sixth trailed by Charles Bowers, Brian Blankenbiller, Tyler James, and Ryan Stoner. Hitzler and Gesford were heat race winners.

Friday’s event was the fourth hand of the Modified Poker Series that will close out on August 11.

The Appalachian Auto Chargers were on the track when the rain started to fall. The rain increased and the racing was halted and then later the feature was postponed.

The Charger feature race will be made up on July 21st. The race will run from a complete restart of the original feature.

The Camera and Autograph Session will be moved to August 25.

Next Friday, July 21st the 270 Micro Sprints will be joined by the Winged 600 Micro Sprints, Modifieds, 125 Micro Sprints, and the Chargers. As noted above the Chargers will run two features.

Gates open at 5:30 for the Friday July 21st race with Racing at 7:30.

For more information on the speedway or any of the upcoming event you can visit or follow the speedway on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram. You can also call the speedway hotline at 717-865-5330.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page