Demmy Wins Charger Championship Race; Nunzi Tops Fall Brawl

Dominate, superior, controlling, and ruled are four words that could describe the night of October 7th and the second Fall Brawl for Nunzi Allegrucci. Quick Time, Heat Race Win, a win in every match race he ran, and then a feature win holding off the defending National Open champion Ross Perchak. Allegrucci turned down a challenge to start from the rear for added money to start on the pole of the feature. He outran Perchak early. Stone Keller had a scary moment when his steering wheel broke and his car flipped from third spot on the front stretch. The rest of the 24 car field missed the wrecked car and Keller was uninjured. The red allowed Perchak to challenge on the restart, but it was Brayden Winters that picked his way into the top three on the restart. By the half way mark Brian Marriott was also at the front to challenge for the race lead. Allegrucci's worst fear came true when instead of seeing the white flag he received the yellow which put Perchak on his rear bumped in a green, white, checkered finish. Perchak pulled to the inside of Allegrucci on the start and the two dueled for the remaining laps with Allegrucci edging Perchak at the line by .132 seconds. The win was the first of Allegrucci's career at Linda's Speedway. Perchak was second followed by Winters, Marriott, and Quinn Roberts. Jesse Maurer was sixth across the line with Scott Gingrich, 24th place starter Tyler Ulrich, Billy Logeman, and Randy West in toe.

The quick time award went to Nunzi Allegrucci. The Amy's photos hard charger award will go to Tyler Ulrich. Kim's Kreations presents the hard luck award that went to Stone Keller.

270 Micro Sprint Heat wins went to Nunzi Allegrucci, Quinn Roberts, Brayden Winters, and Stone Keller. Consolation races to Nick Skias and Dave Williams.

Tyler Walton won the first heat race of the night for the Hoosier Tire 600 Micro Sprints, which put him on the pole of the feature event. Walton was challenged by Steve Whary in the first few laps before opening up a lead over the rest of the field. Walton entered into lap traffic just before the first yellow flag of the race came out on lap ten. Walton got a stellar restart and pulled away to a sizeable advantage again. In similar fashion, the yellow flag came out again on lap 16 just as the leader caught the tail of the field. The third green flag run would put Walton to the test. On lap 22 Walton entered traffic again and Whary, along with Austin Bishop, quickly closed up the gap. Walton made one big move off turn two just as a lap car tagged the back stretch wall to gain the advantage he needed to drive to his second win of the season. Walton won the first race of the year and the final regular season race before the National Open. Whary, Bishop, Garrett Bard, and Tommy Kunsman were the top five finishers. Kyle Spence, Anthony Macri, Brad Brown, Tyler Brehm, and Bj Antonio were the top ten across the line. 600 Micro Sprint heat races were won by Tyler Walton, Steve Whary, Austin Bishop, Anthony Macri, and Tyler Brehm. Kenny Harris won the C-Main. Mike Rutherford won the B-Main.

Jeromy Guistwite wrestled the race lead away from Jason Mills early in the Modified feature event Friday night. Jason Dunkleberger began a charge to the front before making the pass of Guistwite for the top spot on lap five. Once out front it was all Dunkleberger had a comfortable lead until Guistwite lost an engine on lap 14 moving Austin Bishop into the runner up spot and onto the front row for the restart with Dunkleberger. Dunkleberger again got away after a quick challenge from Bishop before Tyler James and Jason Mills wrecked while racing for third. The caution gave Bishop one more shot at Dunkleberger. The chance would be short lived when Bishop's car broke. Dunkleberger suvived some late race yellows to claim his fourth win of the season at the speedway. Joe Carter notched an impressive second place run ahead of Jason Miller, Scott Gesford, and BE Mills. Madison Pancheco, Steve Sterner, Austin Bishop, Tyler James, and Jeromy Guistwite were the top ten finishers. Modified heat race winners were Jeromy Guistwite and Jason Dunkleberger.

As the midnight hour struck at Linda's Speedway Friday night, there was no worry because the Cinderella story had already been told. Sophomore racer Josh Demmy picked up his first career win in the biggest race of the season for the Chargers. Demmy stunned the field when he went to the top of the speed chart in time trials. Charles Wengard then came out and went to the top of the list to stay setting the quick time of the night. Wengard, Demmy, and Aaron Updegraff were the top three in time and started from the pole of their heat races. Eric Hollenbach was able to wrestle away the heat race win from Updegraff while Demmy and Wengard won their heat races. The top two from each heat race reverted to time trials for the feature line up setting up Wengard and Demmy on the front row. Demmy shot to the top spot right out of the gate from the outside of the front row. The start spot and the high line of the speedway proved to be Demmy's best friend all night long. Demmy ran a lane higher on the speedway for much of the event as Ed Hollenbach pressured. Hollenbach was on a two race win streak coming into the event. A few late race yellows slowed the pace into Hollenbach's favor as he continued to try to rattle the cage of the race leader. Updegraff, Josh Michael, and Shjon Dove all ran inside the top three with the race leaders, but on the final laps it was down to Hollenbach and Demmy to settle it. Demmy looked like he had the race in hand as he entered turns 1&2 for the final lap before Hollenbach mounted a perfect charge back to the inside of the leader running to the checkered flag. The two were almost even at the finish line as everyone waited for the official word of the finish. Demmy was the winner according to the electronic scoring system by .033 seconds in the closest Charger Championship race finish ever. Hollenbach, Updegraff, Josh Michael, and Austin Brown were the top five finishers. Eric Hollenbach recovered from an early race spin to finish sixth and clinch the 2016 track championship for the Chargers. Wengard, Chris Smith, and Shane Flaherty were the top ten finishers. Charles Wengard, Josh Demmy, and Eric Hollenbach were heat race winners for the Chargers .

Next Friday and Saturday Linda's Speedway will host the 27th annual Linda's Speedway National Open. It is the 20th running of the Nationals for the 600 Micro Sprints. In honor of the special year the 600 Micro Sprints are going to run with both the wings on and off. Winged 600 Micro Sprints will join the 270 Micro Sprints on Friday October 14th. Saturday October 15th the 600 Micro Sprints will be back with the wings off in a full new show with the 270 Micro Sprints.

Friday night the gates open at 2, Driver Meeting is at 6, hot laps at 6:30, and time trials are at 7:15.

Saturday gates open at 2, Hot Laps at 4:30, and racing starts at 5.

For more information about the racing at Linda's Speedway you can visit, Facebook, Twitter, or call the speedway hotline at (717) 865-5330.

1 view0 comments