Keller-Yankowski-Miller notch first wins on Championship Night

Kyle Weiss has experienced a roller coaster of emotions in the last two 25 lap 270 Micro Sprint feature races at Linda's Speedway. Weiss showed the way early on in the feature as it looked like we would see a repeat of last week. Dave Williams drove into second and challenged Weis until lap 8. That's when Stone Keller drove by Dave Williams into second. By lap 11, Weiss was in lap traffic and Keller was closing. A caution flag on lap 11 would take Weiss out of the traffic and put Keller on his tail. Keller took advantage of the restart to drive by Weiss into the race lead. Keller would proceed to lay down his quickest laps of the race leading up to the final yellow. Weiss had one chance to go by Keller and was able to pull even on the restart before Keller drove away for his first Linda's Speedway win. Point champion, Devin Harron, slipped by Weiss for second. Brandon Firestine and Mike Boyer rounded out the top five. Scott Gingrich charged from 15th to finish in sixth ahead of Dave Williams, Dylan Adams, Collin Ginther, and Dan Lane. Heat races for the 270 Micro Sprints were won by Dave Williams, Stone Keller, and Pat Bealer.

Coming into Friday night, Devin Harron had already claimed his first 270 Micro Sprint championship. Harron ended the point paying season with a second place finish. The championship was the first of his career at the speedway.

Friday night's Hoosier Tire Winged 600 Micro Sprint Feature race started with the field chasing rookie driver, Ian Cummings. Cummings showed the way until lap five when his car stumbled on a restart. Current point leader, Hayden Miller, wasted no time jumping into the race lead after a three wide pass with Garrett Bard. Once out front, Miller was dominate the rest of the event. A late race yellow flag got him out of heavy lap traffic and gave him open race track. Second place, Tommy Kunsman, was only able to challenge on the restart. The only issue Miller had at the end of the race was when the tail kicked out on his car in the final corner coming to the checkered flag. Miller was able to regroup quick enough to win his first Linda's Speedway feature race. Tommy Kunsman came home second with Brian Carber, Austin Bishop, and Brooklyn Gable chasing him across the line. Cummings came home sixth just ahead of Jacob Severn, Jesse Maurer, Dustin Stoltzfus, and 23rd place starter, Steve Whary. Hoosier Tire Winged 600 Micro Sprint heat wins were taken by Austin Bishop, Garrett Bard, and Kenny Murray.

Seidel Hyundai Slingshots came into Friday night with the tightest of all the point battles. The top two were separated by only ten points. After heat races, Sam Scicchitano and Dylan Hoch were tied for the championship point lead. Whichever drive finished ahead in the feature race would be the champion. When the green flag flew, it was Alex Schmiedel showing the way. Schmiedel was hoping for similar luck that he enjoyed on this weekend one year ago when he led 19 of 20 laps in a feature event and marked his best career finish. Schmiedel led until lap 18 yellow flag when second place, Alex Yankowski, used a restart to steal the race lead away. Yankowski would hold on for the final two laps taking his first checkered flag at the speedway. Schmiedel came home second. Scicchitano stayed one spot ahead of Dylan Hoch the whole race to claim the championship, they finished third and fourth. Dave Carraghan closed out the top five finishers. Six through tenth in the finishing order were Brett Bieber, Mike Glass, Scott Gray, Lindsey Garl, and Brianna James. Mike Glass and Alex Yankowski were heat winners for the Slingshots.

Sam Scicchitano's third place finished won him his first championship at the Speedway in the Seidel Hyundai Slingshots.

Jeromy Guistwite started on the pole of the Dayne's Automotive Modified feature on Friday night. His hope was that he would stay there and win his final race as a bachelor. Jason Dunkleberger had other ideas. Dunkleberger bolted into the race lead and held the top spot until a lap 14 restart. The top four drivers in the point standings ran in the first through fourth positions. The racing at the front continued to be very close as Guistwite reclaimed the race lead. 11th place starter, Mike Burrows, challenged the front runners while point leader, Richie Hitzler, watched from fourth. Caution flag came out on lap 19 to set up a one lap shoot out with the race win and championship on the line. Guistwite held off the challenges of Dunkleberger on the final lap for the win. It was his first win of the season. Dunkleberger was second, followed by Burrows, Scott Heilman, and Richie Hitzler. Joe Carter finished in sixth with Charles Bowers, Eric Whitby, Hunter Diehl, and Cody Manmiller rounding out the top ten. Heat races for the Modified drivers went to Scott Heilman, Jason Dunkleberger, and Brian Blakenbiller.

With a fifth place finish Friday night, Richie Hitzler claimed his third Linda's Speedway Championship in the Modified division. It is Hitzler's third title in four years.

Next Friday at Linda's Speedway will be the final Action Track Takeover Night of the 2016 season. The Lebanon Valley Classic will be run for the Speedstrs along with the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, 270 Micro Sprints, and Slingshots. Gates open at 5 with hot laps starting at 7. Racing will follow hot laps. For more information on this race you can visit, follow us on Facebook or Twitter, or call the speedway at (717)865-5330. Adult Admission for this event will be $12 and a pit pass will be $25. This is your final chance of 2016 to see your favorite racers from the Action Track invade Linda's Speedway!

Friday Sept 30 Linda's Speedway will be back in action with another big race. The 270 Micro Sprints will be running their Fall Brawl time trial race along with the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots, and the ARDC Midgets will be racing for the final time in central Pa this season and will crown their 2016 champion. Admission to the grandstands for this show will be $8 and a pit pass will be $25. Gates open at 5 with Midget heat in the engines at 6:55.

Less than 24 hour later the Speedway will roar again with the sound of Modifieds, Chargers, and Slingshots as October 1st features the annual triple header. One of only two Saturday races of the year will play host to the Modified 50, Charger Championship Race, and the Lebanon Valley 100 for the Slingshots. Full details are available on, Twitter or Facebook.

5 views0 comments