Lane and Bishop top Micro Sprint races

Coming into Friday night, the complexion of the 270 Micro Sprint point race had completely changed. Former point leader, Devin Harron, was caught up in a wreck a week ago. New point leader, Kyle Weiss, looked to extend his advantage. Both started inside the top ten of the feature race. Although the point leaders started near the front, it was Dan Lane taking the race lead away from Lyle Strohman on lap three of a nonstop 270 Micro Sprint Feature event. Once out front Lane drove away from the field. Collin Ginther, last week's winner, got to second and closed on Lane in lap traffic, but was never able to complete a pass. Just past halfway, Kyle Weiss slowed to the infield with a problem. Harron settled in to run third hoping for a profitable points night. Jacob Hendershot would go by Harron on lap 23, but was out of time to catch the race leaders. Dan Lane crossed the start finish line for his second win of the season ahead of Ginther, Hendershot, Harron, and Josh Stoyer. Jesse Maurer came home in sixth followed by Brandon Firestine, Strohman, Dave Williams, and Christi Sweigart. 270 Micro Sprint heats went to Devin Harron and Josh Stoyer.

Pole setter Dan Souder showed the way early in the Hoosier Tire winged 600 Micro Sprint Feature event in car 11. Souder was soon joined at the front by another pair of 11's, Hayden Miller and Austin Bishop. Bishop would go around Hayden Miller near the halfway mark, and went by race leader, Dan Souder, on lap 16. Soon after, Souder retired to the pit area with an overheating issue. A late race caution pitted Bishop, Hayden Miller, and 8th place starter, Kameron Morral in a battle for the win. Bishop drove away as Miller and Morral dueled for second. Bishop's win is his second in two weeks; Last week, he won in wingless and this week was a win in winged. Point leader Miller held off Morral for second. Jesse Maurer charged from 14th to finish fourth just ahead of BJ Antonio. Ken Murray, Dustin Stoltzfus, Christian Reed, Luke Thomas, and Jason Sechrist round out the top ten finishers. Hoosier Tire 600 Micro Sprint heat race winners were Dan Souder, Luke Thomas, and Austin Bishop.

Thanks to a victory in the Feature Rush, Charlie Kimmel Jr. started near the front and showed the way early in the Charger Feature event. Kimmel led until his car spun on lap three handing the lead over to his teammate, Troy Hostetter. Hostetter held off challenges of former Charger champion, Chris Smith, in the middle part of the race. Slowly, Eric Hollenbach worked into the thick of the battle for the race lead. Hollenbach running the inside line went by Smith on lap nine, and then was able to work by his teammate Hostetter for the race lead on lap 11. The two continued to battle until the white flag. After the flag, Hollenbach drove away to his third win of the season. Hostetter was second followed by Smith, Paul Lambert, and Josh Michael. Charles Wengard recovered from a mid-race yellow flag to finish sixth. Don Stoudt, Shjon Dove, Brian Derr, and Charlie Kimmel followed Wengard across the line inside the top ten. Heat races for a 19 car Charger field go to Brian Derr, Troy Hostetter, and Paul Lambert. The first Charger feature rush even was won by Charlie Kimmel Jr advancing him right to the main event.

Modified heat race wins went to Joe Carter and Jason Dunkleberger. It's a rare night when Michael Burrows and Richie Hitzler start on the front row of the main event for the Dayne's Automotive Modifieds and neither goes to victory lane. Although both Burrows and Hitzler led in the 20 lap feature race, it was Jason Dunkleberger that took the win. Burrows chose the inside line for a lap three restart, which allowed Hitzler to move into the top spot. Dunkleberger passed race leader, Richie Hitzler, on lap 15 for the win. The win is Dunkleberger's third of the season. DJ Hunt made a big move at the end to take second spot from his eleventh starting spot. Burrows, Hitzler, and Brian Blankenbiller were the top five finishers. Mark Ludwig, Dylan McCrone, Scott Heilman, Katelyn Burrows, and Dakota Bartlett were the top 10 finishers.

Next Friday at Linda's Speedway marks the return of the ARDC Midgets in the Midget week finale. Friday August 19th racing will also feature the 270 Micro Sprints, Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, and the Xcel 600 Modifieds will compete in a tour event. Admission to the grandstands will be $8 for adults and ages 6-12 will be $3. Pit admission will be $25. Gates open at five and hot laps starts at seven. For more information on the speedway or this race you can visit, facebook, or Twitter. You can also call the track hotline at (717)865-5330.

3 views0 comments