Perchak Remains Perfect in Smackdown Win/ Burrows Mod Tour Winner

Ross Perchak came into Friday night undefeated in the time trial races held for the 270 Micro Sprints this season at Linda’s Speedway. After setting quick time Perchak looked like the car to beat again in the North/South Smackdown race for the Mason Dixon traveling series. Perchak dominated the feature event until he got to lap traffic and on lap 12 of the feature event Brandon Firestine dove past Perchak into the race lead. Perchak took the race lead right back and led Firestine through the lap cars with Devin Harron lurking in the third spot. A caution flag on lap 18 opened up the race track for Perchak and gave him the clean air he needed to drive to his third win of the season. Firestine had a few chances to take the lead away on some late race restarts, but Perchak remained out front. Firestine and Harron rounded out the podium finishers. It was Perchak’s second win in the Smackdown race and his 36th career Linda’s Speedway win. Ken Miller, Kyle Weiss, 18th place starter Mike Rutherford, Dave Williams, and Josh Schaffer rounded out the top ten finishers in the 25 lap feature. Heat race victories went to Brandon Firestine, John Ruoss, and Kyle Weiss. Toby Blumenshine was the B-Main winner.

Ross Perchak set Mike Co fast time for the third time this season. Bob Brubaker gained 11 spots in the feature event finishing 12th from his 23rd starting spot to gain the Amy’s Photos hard charger. The Kim Keations Hard Luck Award went to Morgan Rochelle after she was caught up in an opening lap wreck.

Jason Dunkleberger led the Xcel 600 Modified Tour A-Main presented by Dayne’s Automotive early on in the going. Michael Burrows took over the top spot on lap three. Burrows led until lap 14 when Dunkleberger grabbed the top spot back but it was only for one lap. Burrows had a little scare and it was going to get worse before it got better. On the next restart Burrows was involved in a three wide bout with Dunkleberger and Korey Inglin for the top spot. Again Burrows came away with the led and this time it was for good as he held off Dunkleberger for the win from his sixth starting position. Aaron Bowes came from the tenth starting spot to close out the podium finishers. Strong runs for Brian Blankenbiller and DJ Hunt rounded out the top five finishers. Dakota Kohler, Josh Pepe, Scott Heilman, Korey Inglin, and Dakota Barlett were the top ten finishers in the 25 lap feature event. Richie Hitzler, Billy Koch, and Burrows claimed the heat race wins for the field with Dylan McCrone grabbing the consolation win.

Zach Hollinger got the luck of the draw to put him on the front row for the Gutshall’s Automotive 125 Micro Sprint main event on Friday night. Hollinger bolted into the race lead as he looked for a repeat performance of his opening night win. Brad Brown and Justin Harrington quickly began to challenge at the front before the two tangled in the second caution of the race. Hollinger had a new battle on his hands with multi-time 270 Micro Sprint champion Nick Skias. Skias hounded the leader, even in lap traffic, but never got by Hollinger as the driver of the 56 took his second win of the season. Skias was second and Kalani Adams recorded a career best third place finish. A red flag was needed after the leader got the checkered flag. Harrington had wrecked in a battle with eventual fourth and fifth place finishers Scott Renninger and Brown. Levi Vail was the final car on the lead lap and got sixth followed by Harrington, Ron Zimmerman, Nate Gibble, and Keith Gutshall Jr. Skias and Renninger took the heat race wins on the evening.

The Chargers began their three-week point average point handicapping system this week which usually produces some new faces at the front of the field. It did just that. Chalie Kimmel Jr led the field early on in a tight battle with rookie driver Paul Lambert. Kimmel got a right front flat tire that ended his night and gave the lead to Lambert. With former champions Josh Michael and Eric Hollenbach on his tail it looked like Lambert was a sitting duck. That was not the case. The rookie driver held off the veteran racers until the half way mark when Michael was able to slip by followed by Hollenbach. Hollenbach made many attempts to get by Michael but they were not enough and Josh Michael held on for the win. It was his third win of the season. Hollenbach was second followed by the winner’s dad Bryan Michael. Defending champion Chris Smith rebounded from a nasty crash to get fourth with Brian Derr capping off the top five. Sixth through tenth went to Lambert, Jeff Albert, Shjon Dove, John Snavely, and Josh Demmy. Michael and Demmy were the heat race winners.

This coming Friday, June 24th is the second Action Track Takeover Night. Admission for the pit area will be $25 and the grandstands $12 to see the USAC All Pro Speedstrs in action as well as the Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots, and 270 Micro Sprints. Gates open at 5 with hot laps at 7 and racing to follow. For more information, we encourage you to visit, Facebook or Twitter or you can also check out the Action Track’s Facebook and Twitter accounts. As always you can also call the speedway hotline at (717)865-5330.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All