top of page

King Ross II crowned after King of the Wing

Friday the 13th was in no way shape or form bad luck for Ross Perchak who became the second King of the Wing 270 Micro Sprint winner. It was the Hazleton natives 35th 270 Micro Sprint win. Rome, Pennsylvania's Austin Bishop (Winged 600 Micro Sprints), Lebanon’s Richie Hitzler (600 Modifieds), and Josh Michael (Jonestown) were also winners. The race ended a two week period of rain outs at the Speedway.

Ross Perchak has been pretty stout in time trial races at Linda’s Speedway in the last year. Perchak won last years National Open and added the first time trial race win of the season on April 15. Friday night Perchak made a clean sweep of the night by setting quick time, winning his heat race, dash, and King of the Wing 270 Micro Sprint feature event. The win is marked as his 35th career Linda’s Speedway victory. Perchak had some close calls in lap traffic and a late race challenge from a hard charging Devin Harron made Perchak race a little harder at the end. Harron would settle for second. Mike Rutherford, Brad Brown, and Collin Ginther rounded out the top five finishers from the second annual King of the Wing. sixth through tenth belonged to defending winner Kyle Weiss, Cory Myers, Scott Gingrich, Chad Myers, and Jesse Maurer. 270 Micro Sprint heat race wins went to Ross Perchak, Mike Rutherford, Jesse Maurer, and Dave Hawkins. Brandon Hawkins won the B-Main.

Ross Perchak (Mike Co Fast Time & Rock Auto Dash), Kyle Weiss (Amy’s Photo’s Hard Charger), and Josh Stoyer (Kim’s Kreations Hard Luck) were contingency winners.

The heat race winners pick a chip after the heats to set the lineup for the feature. A full inversion was drawn and the fourth place finishers in the heat races were set to the front row of the Hoosier Tire winged 600 Micro Sprint feature. That’s all Austin Bishop needed was a chance to shine. Shine he did, for all 25 laps of the main event. Kyle Spence pressured Bishop a little bit before his engine blew up. Kenny Murray inherited second and also pressured Bishop on the restart, but once the race started to click off lap Bishop drove away to the win. Bishop said in victory lane he was happy to get the win for his dad who is celebrating his birthday this weekend! Hayden Miller continued his season of passing cars to finish second by starting tenth before climbing to the runner up spot Friday. Murray rounded out the podium positions. Tyler Brehm and Jesse Maurer rounded out the top five finishers. Kameron Morral, Ryan Groff, Pat Bealer, Aaron Bollinger, and Brandon Heist finished inside the top ten spots. 600 Micro Sprint heat race wins went to Steve Whary and Kameron Morral. The Winged 600 Micro Sprints return this coming Friday in twin 20 lap feature events.

It looked like Friday would certainly be the first trip to victory lane for the defending Charger champion Chris Smith. Smith led the feature event from the pole position in the early going. Troy Hostetter and Josh Michael quickly became challengers for the top spot. Smith began to fight the speedway near the halfway mark when Hostetter slipped by on the inside into the top spot. A late race yellow flag set up a great finish in which Michael would go by Smith for second as Hostetter motor looked to be blowing up. Michael then went by Hostetter and took the win after restarting third with just three laps to go. Not to be forgotten in the battle at the end was Dale Kreiser who made his first start of the season and almost stole a victory away finishing second when it was all said and done. Smith, Hostetter, and rookie driver Shjon Dove rounded out the top five. Eric Hollenbach, Paul Lambert, John Snavely, Josh Demmy, and Chris Cunnane made up the top ten finishers. Charger heat race wins went to Chris Smith and Don Stoudt.

Richie Hitzler has started up from two times this year in the Dayne’s Automotive Modifieds. Friday night he had to start a little deeper in the field, but that didn’t stop him from flying around the outside of the field and race leader Tyler Brehm on lap three. Hitzler showed the way while Mike Burrows began to pick his way to the front of the field. Burrows attempted to make a move into the race lead when he made contact with a lap car as was penalized for the contact. On the restart after the caution flag Brehm again pressured Hitzler but to no avail as Hitzler drove to his first win of the season. Burrows came back through the field to finish in second with Brehm third. Jeromy Guistwite and Brian Blankenbiller rounded out the top five finishers. Joe Carter was sixth followed by Dakota Barlet, Scott Washburn, Dakota Kohler, and Josh Bewely.Modified heat races were won by Josh Bewely and Brian Blankenbiller.

Linda’s Speedway is back in action on Friday May 20th with the Twin 15’s for the Winged 600 Micro Sprints along with the 125 and 270 Micro Sprints, Modifieds, and Slingshots. Gates open at 5 and racing will begin at 7:30. For more information on the speedway you can visit, Facebook, or Twitter. You can also contact the track hotline at 717-865-5330.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page