top of page

Friday Starrcade wins to Arndt- Brown- Josko

White-knuckle racing is the only way to describe night number two of Starrcade 2016. Brett Wanner led the ARDC Midgets to the green flag for their 25 lap feature. It would become apparent early that the midgets were going to use every inch of the quarter mile on this night. Wanner lead until he bobbled in turn three and Brett Arndt was able to move into the top spot. Unfortunately for Arndt the pass would not stand because of a yellow flag for Ryan Greth and Jim Radney who were right behind Wanner when he slowed and brought out the yellow flag. On the restart Wanner was able to hold off both Arndt and Nick Wean until lap eight when Arndt passed for the lead again. Once Arndt was out front would wage a battle with Bright and Wean for the top spot as they went 3 wide numerous times over the next five laps. Arndt’s car was much better after a lap 14 red flag for Jamie Spears who flipped in turn 1. After the red Arndt easily became the car to beat while Bright tried to fend off a hard charging Trevor Kobylarz. Ardnt was able to withstand a late race yellow flag to grab his first ARDC Midget win at Linda’s Speedway. Bright came across second ahead of Kobylarz, Wean, and Tommy Kunsman. Brendon Bright, Wanner, Eric Heydenrich, Jimmy Glenn, and Ryan Wilson made up the top ten finishers from the ARDC Midget portion of the Starrcade event. Heat race winners for the Midgets were Alex Bright, Tommy Kunsman, and Ryan Greth.

Some people would have said Bradley Brown was suffering from a championship hangover this season. Friday night Brown put that to rest by bolting into the race lead from his fourth starting spot on lap number one. A lap 19 yellow flag was Brown’s only chance to catch his breath and gave the field a chance to catch up. Up until that point Brown had worked his way perfectly through lap traffic lapping all the way up to 13th position. The restart would write the same story as Brown drove away from a great battle for second involving Kyle Weiss and Devin Harron. Brown led the final six laps to claim his seventh career Linda’s Speedway victory. Harron finished in second with Weiss third. Josh Stoyer and Jesse Maurer both came from outside the top ten in starting spots to finish fourth and fifth. Collin Ginther, Scott Gingrich, Brian Marriott, Dan Lane, and Dave Williams were the top ten finishers. Heat race winners for the 270 Micro Sprints were Josh Stoyer, Devin Harron, and Jesse Maurer.

Jon Josko got a new car this week for being the defending Modified champion. He brought that car out in style on Friday night wrestling the race lead away from Richie Hitzler on a restart and holding all the challenges of Korey Inglin and Tyler Brehm all the way to the checkered flag in the first Modified tour race of the season at the track and the final event of the Starrcade weekend. Hitzler showed the way from his second starting spot early on in the feature event. Josko made his move to the top spot on a lap ten restart being pushed by Korey Inglin who then went to the second spot. Inglin pressured the race leader often, but was never able to get by. Josko survived a late race restart in which Hitzler pushed Josko and took himself back by Inglin. He also brought Brehm with him into third. Brehm worked past Hitzler for second and a great battle for the win was shaping up when the races laps ran out. Josko’s first win of the season on the tour and at Linda’s Speedway is a big one for the defending Modified tour champion. It came over Brehm, Hitzler, Inglin, and Billy Koch. Josh Bewley, Jason Dunkleberger, Dylan McCrone, Michael Burrows, and Josh Pepe rounded out the top ten. Brin Blankenbiller, Richie Hitzler, Tyler Brehm, and Jon Josko were the heat race winners with DJ Hunt winning the Modified B Main.

Starrcade is in the books and Linda’s Speedway wants to thank Drivers, Crews, and Fans for the support. The weather forecast was somewhat bleak both days But there was still a great turnout for this event.

Next Friday night the speedway is back in action with the annual Earman Fulk Memorial race. The 270 Micro Sprints, Wingless 600 Micro Sprints, Chargers, and the first race of the season for the Central Pa Legend Cars. Gates open at 5:30 with hot laps starting at 7:00. For more information on the Earman Fulk Memorial Race you can visit or find us on Social Media. You can also call the Speedway hotline at 717-865-5330

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page