Adams Drops Hammer; Walton Wins Buch Memorial

Racing Friday April 1st was run in memory of Steve and Carole Buch.

Devin Adams sat on the front stretch at the 270 Micro Sprint National Open two years ago with a broken chain and no shot at getting into the biggest race of the year through that qualifying night. Adams rebounded and raced his way into the show. Last season he missed the National A-Main field and decided he wanted to focus on making sure that would not happen again. Focus he did. Adams won his heat race Friday and that put him on the pole of the feature. He then wired the field, through lap traffic, and a late race restart to claim his first Linda’s Speedway victory. “You just need to know what you’re doing before you get there,” said Adams of the lap traffic. Jacob Hendershot ran second to Adams, but never got close enough to put significate pressure on 14-year-old Jonestown driver. Hendershot came home second with Brandon Firestine running from seventh to round out the podium. Kyle Weiss charged from 12th to finish fourth with Tyler Ulrich grabbing the final spot in the top five. Josh Stoyer, Dan Lane, Mike Boyer, Collin Ginther, and Brad Brown rounded out the top ten finishers for the feature event.

Kameron Morral took a huge start going from third to first to lead early in the Hoosier Tire Winged 600 Micro Sprint main event Friday. Morral showed the way until his car broke on lap seven. Kenny Murray took over at that point with Tim Buckwalter in chase. When a caution fell at half way, Tyler Walton had come from his 11th starting spot into the third position. Jason Swavely was also working his way to the front when the two made contact on lap 15. Swavely was taken off and at that point Walton moved to the outside line and the rest was history. Walton moved by Buckwalter into second on lap 18 and began to chase Murray. Murray caught a break with a yellow on lap 20 when Walton went into the race lead, but did not stay there. Murray regained the top spot and held it until Walton again took it away on lap 22 for good on his way to the Steve Buch Memorial win. While the race for the lead was a good one Hayden Miller began to steal the show with a charge from 18th to the runner up spot. Miller grabbed the spot from Murray off the final corner coming to the checkered flag. Buckwalter and Kyle Lick rounded out the top five. Defending champion Steve Whary claimed sixth on opening night followed by Tyler Brehm, James Morris, Bradley Weber, and Jesse Maurer who all started outside the top fifteen. Heat races were won by Whary, Pat Bealer, and Kenny Miller. Jim Young was the consolation winner for the 27 car field.

Brett Bieber started from the pole of the Slingshot feature event. Bieber was already a two-time winner on opening night at Linda's Speedway and looked to add to his total in front of a 26 car field. Aj Gerhart battled early with Alex Yankowski for the runner up spot. Yankowski held the spot until the half way mark when Anthony Raisner joined the battle and moved into spot two. As Bieber approached lap traffic Raisner began to close. A yellow on lap 16 gave Bieber open race track and the opportunity to seal his third opening night victory and his 15th career Linda's Speedway win. A battle for second heated up quickly after the late race restart with Raisner holding off Gerhart, Yankowski, and Dylan Hoch who started 12th. Sam Scicchitano, Dave Carragahn, Scott Gray, Alex Schmiedel, and Tim Roeder all finished inside the top ten. Heat races were won by Bieber, Gerhart, and Yankowski.

There was only one driver in the field in Friday's 125 Micro Sprint feature event that could be a repeat winner. Once Chase Gutshall slowed before the green flag we were guaranteed a new winner in Gutshall Automotive sponsored division. That driver looked to be heat race winner Kyle Heiney. Heiney lead Zach Hollinger and the winner of the other heat race Scott Renninger for much of the event. Hollinger and Renninger began to close in on the leader while they dueled with each other. Renninger grabbed second just as Heiney's drifted into the back stretch wall. A yellow flag flew on lap 15 before the next lap was scored and Hollinger took the lead as Heiney was towed off the race track. Renninger gave Hollinger all he could handle over the last five laps, but Hollinger remained unshaken and drove to his first win at the speedway. Renninger was second followed by Punch Hehnly, Cheyenne Robicheaux, and Kalani Adams in the top five. Noah Merkey was sixth followed by Kody Hibshman, Kyler Heiney, Dustin Adams, and Levi Vial.

This Friday night will kick off the season of racing for the Hoosier Tire Wingless 600 Micro Sprints as well as the Chargers. The 270 Micro Sprints and Slingshots will also be in action. It will be a Slingshot tour event. Gates open at 5 with hot lap kicking off at 7. For more information on the Speedway you can visit, find us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter. The track hotline is always available as well at (717) 865-5330.

3 views0 comments