2015 Linda's Speedway Championship Banquet

December 12, 2015 –Awards and contingencies were handed out Saturday December 12 at the annual Linda's Speedway awards banquet held at the Holiday Inn in Grantville. 300 guests were on hand to celebrate the 2015 racing season.

Bradley Brown was honored as the 2015 RTS Chassis 270 Micro Sprint champion. It is Brown's first title at the speedway. He compiled four wins in the season after originally not planning to compete the full year. Brown thanked his parents, aunt and uncle for their work and dedication to his championship season along with his girlfriend and other sponsors.

Steve Whary left the awards ceremony with two of the big trophies after completing a title run in both the winged and wingless 600 Micro Sprint divisions. Whary congratulated the H&S Motorsports team on their efforts during the season and thanked his family for their hard work and support.

Jason Dunkleberger accepted his awards after claiming the Xcel 600 Modified championship. Dunkleberger was also honored at the Xcel Chassis banquet last week as well. Dayne's Automotive sponsored the Modifieds in 2015 and plan to return for 2016.

Kyle Gruber finished out a successful Slingshot career with a championship in the 2015 West Side Auto Body Slingshot season. Gruber continued a trend of grabbing the late season point lead and holding on for the win.

Chris Smith became the first four-time Eash's Towing Charger champion in 2015. Smith has not competed full time at Linda's Speedway in a few years and returned in proper form. Smith was also the first Charger champion when the class originated.

Brianna Gerhart thanked car owner Jim Bosak and family, who were all in attendance to celebrate her Gutshall's Automotive 125 Micro Sprint championship. Gerhart is only the second female driver to win a championship in the 125 Micro Sprints at Linda's Speedway.

Clinton Penkauskas became the third driver to be honored at Linda's Speedway as a Legend Car champion. Clint is the first champion to solely compete at Linda's Speedway with no affiliation to the Keystone Legends series.

Joining the seven champions in honors were the following;

270 Micro Sprints: Rookie of the Year- Collin Ginther; Most Improved- Logan Diehl; Hard Luck- Greg Miller;

600 Micro Sprints: Rookie of the Year- Buddy Hines; Most Improved- Steve Recchione;

Modifieds: Rookie of the Year- Andrew Ace; Most Improved- Charles Bowers; Hard Luck- Brian Blankenbiller;

Slingshots: Rookie of the Year- Dawson Landis; Most Improved- Sam Scicchitano; Hard Luck- Scott Gray;

Chargers: Rookie of the Year- Rob Pyle; Most Improved- Austin Brown

The winners of the Steve Buch Sportsmanship award, named for the long time Linda's Speedway announcer, were Brandon Firestine ( 270 Micro Sprints), Brian Carber (600 Micro Sprints), Charles Bowers (Modifieds), Sam Scicchitano (Slingshots), and Chris Smith (Chargers).

Fan voting was again held for best appearing cars and the awards went to Mike Boyer (270 Micro Sprints), Jerry Schott Jr and Steve Recchione (600 Micro Sprints), Charles Bowers (Modifieds), Chris Smith (Chargers), and a staff vote presented Madyson Pacheco with the Slingshot award. Michael Burrows was the winner of the Driver of the Year.

Linda's Speedway plans to release the full 2016 schedule of event before the Christmas holiday. Practice day is scheduled for Friday March 25 and opening night will be April 1, 2016. Information can be found at LindasSpeedway.com, Facebook, or Twitter as it becomes available.

7 views0 comments