National Open XXX to Swift


Dates: October 16 & 17, 2020

Current Champion:

Alex Swift

Odds on favorite Alex Swift added his name to the illustrious winners in the 270 Micro Sprint National Open at Linda’s Speedway on Saturday Night, October 19.


Alex Swift and Nick Walton have been a strong combination in the 270 Micro Sprint Time Trial Series at Linda’s Speedway in 2019. Swift picked up his first Linda’s Speedway win at Fall Brawl to close out the Time Trial season. He returned on National Open weekend and won not only the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Race of Champions, on Saturday night, also the 30th running of the National Open.


Jacob Hendershot got to the front of the field at the drop of the green flag and showed the way until lap eight when his car slowed with an issue.


Swift was able to race away on the restart while a battle for second raged on between Jason Swavely, Brian Borawiec. It wouldn’t be long before Tommy Kunsman was part of that battle.


By lap 31 Kunsman was second after starting 19th. Then a yellow flag bunched the field back up.


Swift would remain unshaken and hold off the two time Linda’s Speedway track champion. Swift crossed the line 0.922 second ahead of Kunsman. Swavely, Borawiec, and Steve Dunmire were the top five.


Ross Perchak was sixth ahead of Scott Gingrich, Nick Skias, Pete Skias, and Sean McAndrew.


Kunsman was the hard charger.